Related topics

Board vice president departing Whiteside County airport

March 17, 2018 GMT

ROCK FALLS – The Whiteside County Airport Board’s vice president soon will be added to the airport’s list of departures.

Jerri Robinson, the longest-serving member on the board, is stepping down after 15 years.

At the tail end of Thursday’s board meeting, Robinson said she plans to hand in her resignation within the next 10 days.

“It wasn’t an easy decision,” she said Friday. “I’ve worked with some very good people over the years, and I wish the best for the airport.”

Part of that decision came from changes with the airport and board and “how things have been handled,” she said.

During the past several months, Robinson has been the minority dissenting vote on several board actions, including the leadership change to new manager and fixed-base operator Darin Heffelfinger, and different spending decisions such as spending $6,800 more to seal-coat to approve aesthetics prior to the airport’s career day event and reimbursing board secretary Monte Van Kooten up to $1,750 for attending an economic development conference in San Antonio, Texas.

“My votes speak for themselves,” she said.

Robinson’s resignation is on top of four others who have left the airport in the last year.

Former Airport Board Chairman Stan Domack Jr., whose tenure with the group spanned 30 years, resigned in April, as did board member John Zaeske.

In June, longtime airport attorney Dave Murray resigned after close to half a century at the airport.

Former longtime Airport Manager Mike Dowell left about 6 months ago after the board decided to hire new management for the first time since 1996 and later rejected his lease proposal to continue his business, M&M Aviation, at the airport.

Airport Board members are appointed by Whiteside County Board Chairman Jim Duffy and then voted on by the County Board.