Click to copy
Click to copy

Trump approves disaster aid for Lake Ontario flooding

November 14, 2017

ALBANY, N.Y. (AP) — Federal recovery aid will be coming to Lake Ontario shoreline communities after President Donald Trump issued a major disaster declaration for spring and summer flooding.

The declaration issued Tuesday includes Niagara, Orleans, Wayne, Oswego, Jefferson and St. Lawrence counties. It omits two lakefront counties, Monroe and Cayuga, but says additional designations could be added later if warranted.

A news release from the White House said federal funding will be available to the state and local governments and certain non-profit organizations for part of the cost of repairing facilities damaged by flooding.

The state has committed $45 million in assistance to property owners.

Lake Ontario rose 30 inches from April through May, reaching a record high level. Wind-driven waves pounded the shoreline, causing widespread damage to infrastructure, homes and businesses.

All contents © copyright 2019 The Associated Press. All rights reserved.