Education notebook: University High’s Syvanna Arwood elected lieutenant governor of Key Club

April 11, 2019 GMT

University High School student Syvanna Arwood was recently elected as the new lieutenant governor of the Division 46 Key Club. Division 46 is comprised of 10 area high schools.

Arwood was installed as the Division 46 lieutenant governor at the PNW District Key Club Convention in early March in Seattle, where she attended alongside two other University key club members and 14 key club members from Deer Park High School.

The convention gathers key club members across the state to celebrate their community service and leadership with workshop sessions, project presentations, individual and club competitions, as well as keynote speakers.

Across the Pacific Northwest there are 41 divisions with over 300 key clubs. The lieutenant governors serve on the PNW District board of directors to represent their respective division.

Both key clubs at Deer Park and University are sponsored by local Kiwanis Clubs.

Vaping will be topic of East Valley meeting

The East Valley Community Coalition will host “Vaping 101: A Parent Conversation” on April 24, 6-7 p.m. at the East Valley Middle School Library at 4920 N. Progress Road, Spokane Valley.

It will feature guest speaker Jared O’Connor of the Washington Poison Center. Topics will include what e-cigarette and vaping devices are and what is in them, what products are on the market, information on drug trends and how to talk to children about these issues.

East Valley High taking plant sale orders

The East Valley High School band is now taking orders for its annual plant sale fundraiser. The order form is available at evsd.org and plants will be delivered to the high school on May 4. The sale offers various bedding plants, individual pants, hanging baskets, planters and tomato plants.

Questions can be addressed to Garry LaPlante at laplanteg@evsd.org. To support a particular student the student must be named on the form.

Moran Prairie student named to safety patrol hall of fame

Moran Prairie Elementary School student Charles LaSalle was recently selected for this year’s AAA Washington School Safety Patrol Hall of Fame.

Ten students are selected each year for their commitment to pedestrian safety and are honored at a Seattle Mariners game.

The Education Notebook appears every Thursday in the Voice. If you have news about your school, students or staff, please let us know so we can help spread the word. Submissions can be emailed to Rachel Baker at rachelb@spokesman.com or mail to her, with attention to Education Notebook, P.O. Box 2160, Spokane, WA 99210. Items also can be emailed to voice@spokesman.com.