Related topics

South Africa bats first in 4th ODI vs. Sri Lanka

July 28, 2013

PALLEKELE, Sri Lanka (AP) — South Africa captain AB de Villiers has won the toss and elected to bat first in the fourth one-day international against Sri Lanka at Pallekele International Stadium on Sunday.

The Proteas have retained hopes of securing the series by winning the third match on Friday after losing the first two.

They have recalled opener Hashim Amla back to the side after he was left out due to a knee injury while fielding in the second ODI. He replaces Alviro Petersen.

Fast bowler Ryan McLaren is injured and has been replaced by Rory Kleinveldt.

Middle-order batsman Lahiru Thirimanne returns to the Sri Lanka side from injury, replacing Angelo Perera who made his ODI debut in the last match.



Sri Lanka: Angelo Mathews (captain), Upul Tharanga, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardene, Dinesh Chandimal, Lahiru Thirimanne, Thisara Perera, Rangana Herath, Ajantha Mendis, Lasith Malinga.

South Africa: AB de Villiers (captain), Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock, Jean-Paul Duminy, Farhaan Behardien, Robin Peterson, Faf du Plessis, David Miller, Rory Kleinveldt, Morne Morkel, Lonwabo Tsotsobe.

All contents © copyright 2019 The Associated Press. All rights reserved.