Area Music Awards set for Friday at Majestic Theatre

April 15, 2019

The eighth annual Area Music Awards will be held from 7 to 11 p.m. Friday at the Majestic Theater in Downtown Kankakee.

This year, fourteen artists will receive awards and perform in a concert. Award winners include Musician of the Year (Ed Oberlander), Lifetime Achievement (Ty Lemna), Best Live Band (Full Speed), Best Male Artist (Matt Shipley), Best Female Artist (Melissa Ziemer), Best Album (Michael Rockert), Best Song (Carrying Torches), Best Rock Band (Mind Enigma), Best Contemporary Christian Artist (Ken Carroll), Best Male Vocalist (Joshua Jones), Best Female Vocalist (Lois Harris), Best Acoustic Artist (Vern ‘n’ Vern), Best Gospel and R&B Artist (Robert Thurman & the Thurman Family) and Best Duo (Fuel & Fire).

Also to be bestowed are several Honorary Lifetime Achievement Awards. These awards are presented to musicians who had a significant effect on the area music scene before the Area Music Awards began in 2012. This year’s honorees include Tom Billadeau, Norm Denault, Billy Ferrias, Gerry Grzelak, Jason Hayden, Tyke Hendershott, Kevin McNulty, John Riordan, Dave Stone, Jimmy Stone, Jack Verhines and Ed Zolot.

The awards are a fundraiser for Make It Stick, which works to warn young people of the dangers of alcohol and substance abuse. Advance tickets cost $10 and can be purchased at King Music, Veronda’s Music or Chicago Records. Tickets will cost $12 at the door.

All contents © copyright 2019 The Associated Press. All rights reserved.