Santa Fe City Council to appoint 3 to Planning Commission

December 13, 2018

City councilors are poised to approve three new members to the city’s influential Planning Commission.

The nine-member board reviews and approves development proposals and is likely to be a primary setting for contentious not-in-my-backyard battles as city officials and developers move to address Santa Fe’s housing crisis.

The Planning Commission also has served as a sort of launch pad for city councilors, several of whom served on the panel before making a run for the council.

The appointees must be approved by a majority of the council during its regular meeting Wednesday evening. Nominated by Mayor Alan Webber for two-year terms are:

• Janet Clow, a longtime litigation attorney at the Santa Fe law firm Thompson, Hickey, Cunningham, Clow, April & Dolan. Clow also served as the state’s chief public defender under former Gov. Toney Anaya in the 1980s, according to her résumé. Clow has an undergraduate degree from California State University and earned a law degree from the University of New Mexico in 1975.

• Jessica Eaton Lawrence, an attorney and mediator who is a sole proprietor and whose recent clients include state agencies and the city of Albuquerque, according to her résumé. Lawrence also was planning and special projects manager for the state Department of Finance and Administration under former Gov. Bill Richardson. Lawrence earned her undergraduate, graduate and law degree from the University of Michigan.

• Dominic Sategna, a senior business development analyst with Thornburg Investment Management. Sategna is also the president of the board of the Nava Adé Homeowners Association. Sategna earned an undergraduate and graduate degree from the University of New Mexico.

Commissioner Brian Gutierrez is slated to be reappointed to another two-year term.