Lamar lacrosse hosts TGHSLL state tournament

May 3, 2017 GMT

The Texas Girls High School Lacrosse League state championship will be decided in Houston this week, with Lamar Women’s Lacrosse, Houston Youth Lacrosse and the TGHSLL South District hosting the Division I and Division II tournaments May 6-7 at the South Campus Sports Complex (3600 West Bellfort Avenue).

The 16-team field includes six teams from the Houston area, with St. John’s, Kingwood and The Woodlands competing in Division I and Klein, Gulf Coast and Katy vying for the Division II title. Action begins with the quarterfinals May 6, with the semifinals scheduled for the late afternoon and evening.


Championship action begins at 10 a.m. with the Division II final on Hildebrand Field, followed by the Division I final at 1 p.m. St. John’s is the defending champion in Division I. Keller ISD won Division II last year, holding off Katy.

Hockaday, the SPC runner-up is the top seed in Division I this year, followed by The Woodlands and SPC champion Episcopal School of Dallas. Greenhill is the top seed in Division II, followed by Katy and Bowie.

More state tournament information is available at http://lamarwlax.org/tghsll-state-tournament-2017.

The Woodlands and Katy were crowned city and South District champions in their respective divisions, with The Woodlands defeating St. John’s 12-8 and Katy edging Gulf Coast 10-9. Kingwood, Kinkaid, Lamar and Cy-Fair rounded out the D-I city tournament field, while St. Agnes, Klein, Stratford and Friendswood made the D-II playoffs.


At South Campus Sports Complex

Quarterfinals-May 6

Division I (Hildebrand Field)

No. 4 St. John’s School vs. No. 5 McKinney, 8 a.m.

No. 1 Hockaday vs. No. 8 St. Stephen’s, 10 a.m.

No. 2 The Woodlands vs. No. 7 St. Michael’s, Noon

No. 3 Episcopal School of Dallas vs. No. 6 Kingwood, 2 p.m.

Division II (Flores Field)

No. 4 Gulf Coast vs. No. 5 Plano, 8 a.m.

No. 1 Greenhill vs. No. 8 Klein, 10 a.m.

No. 2 Katy vs. No. 7 Lake Travis, Noon

No. 3 Bowie vs. No. 6 Frisco, 2 p.m.


Division I

Attack: Olivia Deaver, Kingwood; Emma Fransen, Cy-Fair; Belle Martire, Kinkaid; Hayley Reardon, The Woodlands

Midfield: Eliza Cahill, The Woodlands; Kate Copeland, St. John’s; Brittany Borchers, Kingwood


Defense: Erin Tosh, The Woodlands; Carson Copeland, St. John’s; Caroline Rippeto, Episcopal; Chloe Hunter, Kinkaid

Goalie: Rachel Hall, Cy-Fair

Division II

Attack: Victoria Messmer, Gulf Coast; Jill Klumbach, Katy; Alex Medrano, St. Agnes; Hailie Moore, Klein

Midfield: Bailey Brown, Katy; Olive Pertuit, Gulf Coast; Bella Samper, Klein

Defense: Bailey Jereb, Gulf Coast; Christina Broeckelmann, St. Agnes; Meg Schomburg, Stratford; Reeya Patel, Katy

Goalie: Sidney Shindler, Gulf Coast