Verona, Sun Prairie schools get $570K in school safety grants

July 27, 2018

Two of the largest suburban school districts in Dane County have been awarded over $570,000 in safety grants to bolster school security and to train staff.

The Sun Prairie Area School District received a grant of $300,000 on Tuesday and the Verona Area School District received a grant of $270,905 on Wednesday, according to the Wisconsin Department of Justice Office of School Safety.

The grants were two of 90 grants totaling more than $6.5 million, awarded in the first round of funding from a $100 million school safety fund in the 2018 state budget.

The second round of funding will use the remaining $45 million in the school safety fund for advanced initiatives to bolster student mental health, creating safety intervention teams and more security upgrades, with grants awarded beginning in October.

Sixty-seven school districts and private schools received $4.9 million in safety grants on Tuesday, with a dozen area districts and schools getting over $1.1 million.

Those include:

Belleville School District, $77,611Cuba City School District, $60,000Grantsburg School District, $68,590Immaculate Heart of Mary Grade School in Monona, $20,000Jefferson School District, $88,219Lodi School District, $105,140River Valley School District, $85,850St. Henry Grade School in Watertown, $20,000Sauk Prairie School District, $126,986St. Joseph Grade School in Dodgeville, $20,068Sun Prairie Area School District, $300,000Watertown Unified School District, $188,632

Twenty-three districts and schools received $1.6 million in grants on Wednesday, with six area grants totaling over $535,000.

They include:

Beloit Turner School District, $79,120Hillsboro School District, $40,960Ithaca School District, $65,243Potosi School District, $59,262St. Paul’s Lutheran School in Fort Atkinson, $19,600Verona Area School District, $270,905