The Latest: Cohen re-elected in Tennessee’s 9th District

November 9, 2016

MEMPHIS, Tenn. (AP) — The Latest on elections in Tennessee (all times local):

11 p.m.

Incumbent Democrat Steve Cohen has won re-election in Tennessee’s 9th Congressional District, defeating Republican challenger Wayne Alberson.

Cohen was first elected in 2006. The district lies in Shelby County and includes the city of Memphis.


9:50 p.m.

An election commission spokeswoman in Shelby County says vote totals have been delayed due to issues with absentee ballots and a memory card.

Shelby County Election Commission spokeswoman Suzanne Thompson says a problem with a ballot reader machine caused a delay in absentee vote totals.

Also, a memory card from one machine was left behind at a polling place. A sheriff’s deputy picked it up and was driving it back to the main election office to be processed.

The delay caused results in Tennessee’s 9th Congressional District and several state Legislature races to lag behind other counties.


9:05 p.m.

The Tennessee House seat previously held by expelled state Rep. Jeremy Durham will remain in Republican hands.

Former Army Col. Sam Whitson of Franklin defeated Democrat Holly McCall in District 65 race by 42 percentage points.

Whitson had defeated Durham in the August primary following a state attorney general’s report that detailing allegations that Durham had had improper sexual contact with at least 22 women during his four years in office.

The House voted in September to formally oust Durham from his seat to prevent him from completing his term and qualifying for a state pension.

Democratic Rep. Joe Armstrong of Knoxville resigned on the eve of the special session after being convicted in a federal tax fraud trial. His appointed successor, Rick Staples, was unopposed in the general election.


8:30 p.m.

Incumbent Democrat Jim Cooper has won re-election in Tennessee’s 5th Congressional District.

Cooper was first elected to the Middle Tennessee district that includes Nashville in 2002.


7:50 p.m.

Former U.S. Attorney David Kustoff has won the open seat representing Tennessee’s 8th Congressional District, defeating Democrat Rickey Hobson.

Kustoff became the favorite in the heavily Republican district after winning the GOP primary over 12 opponents in August. His victory all but assured him of a seat in the U.S. House, where he is set to replace U.S. Rep. Stephen Fincher, who decided not to seek a fourth term.

The district stretches from suburban Memphis through 14 other, mostly rural counties in west Tennessee.


7:50 p.m.

Incumbent Republican Rep. Chuck Fleischmann won re-election in Tennessee’s 3rd Congressional District, defeating Democrat Melody Shekari.

Fleischmann has served in Congress since 2010. He serves a district in the eastern part of the state, including Chattanooga.

7:45 p.m.

Incumbent Republican Diane Black has won re-election in Tennessee’s 6th Congressional District, defeating Democrat David Kent.

Black, first elected in 2010, is considered a possible contender for Tennessee governor in 2018.

The 6th District is located in the northern and north central portion of Tennessee.


7:40 p.m.

Incumbent Republican Scott DesJarlais has won re-election in Tennessee’s 4th Congressional District, defeating Democrat Steven Reynolds.

DesJarlais, a physician first elected to Congress in 2010, has since then weathered revelations that he had multiple affairs, encouraged a lover to get an abortion, and was reprimanded and fined by the state medical board for having sexual relations with patients. The behavior occurred before his first bid for Congress, where he has consistently opposed legal abortion.

The 4th District lies in the central and south central part of Tennessee, west of Chattanooga.


7:40 p.m.

Incumbent Republican Phil Roe has won re-election in Tennessee’s 1st Congressional District, defeating Democrat Alan Bohms.

Roe was first elected to Congress in 2008. The 1st District occupies the state’s northeast corner between Virginia and North Carolina, east of Knoxville.


7:40 p.m.

Incumbent Republican John Duncan Jr. has won re-election in Tennessee’s 2nd Congressional District, defeating Democrat Stuart Starr.

Duncan has served in Congress since 1988 and is the state’s longest-serving member of Congress.

The 2nd District is located in the eastern portion of the state, including Knoxville.


7:25 p.m.

Incumbent Republican Marsha Blackburn has won re-election in Tennessee’s 7th Congressional District, defeating Democrat Tharon Chandler.

Blackburn, a member of Congress since 2002, is considered a possible contender for Tennessee governor in 2018.

The 7th District is located in the southwestern and middle portion of Tennessee between Nashville and Jackson.


7:20 p.m.

Donald Trump has won Tennessee’s 11 electoral votes after an election campaign that has wreaked havoc among Republicans in the state.

Republican Gov. Bill Haslam had refused to endorse Trump both before and after his presidential nomination. And on the eve of early voting, Haslam publicly rejected Trump’s candidacy and said he would write in the name of another Republican on his ballot.

The governor’s move led to a backlash from several county Republican parties, who filed resolutions urging support for Trump.

Democrat Hillary Clinton had all but conceded heavily Republican Tennessee for much of the campaign, but her supporters were energized late in the race by debate performances and Trump’s sliding poll numbers around the nation.


10:15 a.m.

Officials say Election Day has begun smoothly in Tennessee as people cast ballots for U.S. House, the president and other offices.

Tennessee Secretary of State spokesman Adam Ghassemi said he hadn’t heard of any major issues by mid-morning on Tuesday. He says heavy turnout is expected based on record-breaking early voting totals.

Tennessee’s eight incumbent House members are expected to win re-election without much stress on Election Day.

Voters will also make a choice for president and for various statehouse races.


6:45 a.m.

Voters in Tennessee will decide whom to send to Washington to represent them in the U.S. House of Representatives.

Tennessee’s eight incumbent House members — six Republicans and two Democrats — are expected to win re-election without much stress on Election Day.

In the solidly-Republican 8th District in West Tennessee, Republican Stephen Fincher vacated his seat with the surprise announcement earlier this year that he would not seek a fourth term. Republican David Kustoff, a former U.S. attorney, is taking on little-known Democrat Rickey Hobson there.

More than 1.6 million voters cast early ballots in Tennessee, likely spurred by the pivotal and contentious presidential race featuring Democrat Hillary Clinton and Republican Donald Trump.