Transportation Infrastructure Bank board gets a new member

March 5, 2019 GMT

FLORENCE, S.C. – State Sen. Hugh K. Leatherman will be joined by a new face on the state Transportation Infrastructure Bank board.

David Shehan, president of Keystone Contractors in Gaffney, had been appointed to the board, the office of Senate President Harvey Peeler announced.

“I have known David for many years,” said Peeler, a Republican from Senate District 14. “With his knowledge and expertise, he is the right person at the right time to serve on this important Board.”

Senate District 14 includes all of Cherokee County, a portion of eastern Spartanburg County, northeastern Union County and western York County.

Shehan is a Gaffney native. He received a bachelor’s degree in civil engineering and a masters of construction science and management from Clemson University. Shehan is married to Kimberly Thompson Shehan. The Shehans are the parents of two children.

Joe Taylor, whom Shehan replaces, was appointed to the board by former Senate President Pro Tempore John Courson in 2012. The office of president pro tempore has since been changed and converted to the office of president. The president now has the additional responsibility of conducting senate sessions.

The State Infrastructure Bank was established in 1997 to focus on large transportation projects and allow the South Carolina Department of Transportation to devote its resources to smaller projects. Members of the Bank Board are appointed by the governor, the president of the Senate and the Speaker of the House of Representatives.

Joining Leatherman and Shehan on the board are Chairman John B. White Jr. of Spartanburg, Vice Chairman Ernest Duncan of Aiken, H.B. “Chip” Limehouse of Charleston, Rep. Gary Simrill of Rock Hill, and Robert D. “Robby” Robbins of Summerville.

Simrill’s district includes central eastern York County. He is the majority leader of the South Carolina House of Representatives.

Leatherman has served in the South Carolina Senate since 1981. His district includes most of Florence County and two portions of eastern Darlington County. He is the chairman of the Senate Finance Committee. Leatherman, who served as president pro tempore of the Senate from 2014-2018, was named president pro tempore emiritus when the position was changed to president in early 2019.