Related topics

Wichita State, Butler County, Barton County win two

April 19, 1997

LAWRENCE, Kan. (AP) _ The Wichita State and Butler County men and the Barton County women won two events each to highlight Friday’s action in the 72nd annual Kansas Relays.

Julius Wanjiro anchored Butler County’s 4-mile relay team to victory over Navy in 16 minutes, 55.55 seconds and Melvin Lister won the college division long jump in 24 feet, 7 1/4 inches.

Wichita State’s Jeff Dutoit won the university pole vault by virtue of fewer misses at 17 feet, 0 3/4 inches over Jon Colby-Miller and Jeramy Mull.

Wichita State’s Jay Krom won the university javelin at 221-4, a provisional qualifying mark for the NCAA championships.

``I just try to relax and concentrate on what I need to do,″ he said. ``You hope you get a good wind and get a good one off, but preparation is everything.″

Michelle Baptiste of Southwest Missouri also recorded an NCAA provisional qualifying mark, winning the university long jump at 20-9 1/4. Dahlia Ingram and Angee Henry, both of Nebraska, also had provisional marks at 20-5 and 20-4 1/4.

In the men’s long jump, Chris Wright leaped 26-1 3/4 for a provisional qualifier to edge out Tim Bryant’s 26-1.

Dolette Blake won the college long jump in 19-6 1/4 for Barton County and the 800-meter relay team ran a 1:39.68 to beat Hutchinson Community College.

The Kansas women took four of the top six places in the shot put, with Kim Feldcamp winning with a toss of 46-7.

``This was my best outdoor performance ever,″ she said.

Joseph Kogo won the Billy Mills 10,000-meter run in 30:10.06. Kogo’s victory was the fifth straight in the event by a Kenyan running for Barton County.

``The stadium and track are really nice and the competition was pretty good,″ Kogo said.

Renetta Seiler of Kansas State won the hammer throw with a toss of 195-5. The mark is an automatic NCAA qualifier and is fifth-best ever by an American.

She broke the Kansas Relays record of 182-3 set last year by Katie Panek of Wichita State, who finished second this year.

Sarah Piccolo of Colorado State won the 5,000 in 16:30.91, also a provisional qualifying mark.

Busse Witek won the men’s hammer throw on his final toss with a mark of 208-9 1/2.