New class of Bridgeport police officers sworn in

September 20, 2016 GMT

BRIDGEPORT — The 28 members of the newest class of the Bridgeport Police Department were sworn in during a ceremony Monday night.

The graduates are:

Marcus Berrios, James Boulay, Carlos Carmo, Linet Castillo-Jimenez, Andrew Christie, Jamar Edwards, Ovelize Elena, Margaret Farkas, Steven Figueroa, Kamar Gidden, Bobby Hernandez, Richard Jimenez, Matthew Johnson, Chealsey Lancia, Natalie McLaughlin, Taequan Mitchell, Luis Ortiz, Daniel Ortiz, Mario Pecirep, Joseph Pires, Eroildo Quiles, Thiago Reaes, Milka Rodriguez, Stephen Silva, Jonathan Simmons, Adam Szeps, Cyndy Trinh, Dale Walker.

In addition, Paige Bodnar was sworn in as the newest member of the Milford Police Department and James Tortora took his place on the Naugatuck Police Department.

City officials said it was one of the most diverse classes they have ever had.