In County, Republicans Voted In Larger Numbers Than Democrats

May 17, 2018 GMT

Registered Democrats outnumber Republicans by 31,421 in Luzerne County, but more Republicans voted in Tuesday’s primary election in the county.

A total of 17,779 Republicans voted in the county, and 16,483 Democrats participated. Registered Democrats outnumber Republicans 106,323 to 74,902.

The turnout percentage of all registered voters was

16.7 percent. Stormy and rainy weather may have reduced overall turnout.

Only voters registered as Democrats and Republicans were allowed to vote in the primary election in Luzerne County because the ballot didn’t include any nonpartisan questions or special elections that would allow the participation of unaffiliated voters and voters registered with minor and third parties.

Democratic turnout was 15.5 percent. Republican turnout — 23.7 percent — may have been higher because Republicans had more competitive, high-profile contests on the ballot.


Gov. Tom Wolf, U.S. Sen. Bob Casey and U.S. Rep. Matt Cartwright won Democratic nominations in uncontested primary contests. Scott Wagner, a state senator from York County, will face Wolf in the general election for governor and had to win a primary battle against two other Republicans.

U.S. Rep. Lou Barletta won the Republican nomination to take on Casey by defeating a Republican opponent. John Chrin defeated two Republicans to became the GOP nominee in the general election against Cartwright for the new 8th Congressional District, which includes eastern Luzerne County and the cities of Pittston, Wilkes-Barre, Nanticoke and Hazleton, in addition to other Northeast Pennsylvania counties — Lackawanna, Wayne, Pike and most of Monroe.

Three Democrats and three Republicans were on the ballot for the other congressional district in Luzerne County, the new 9th Congressional District. It includes less densely populated municipalities in western Luzerne County and stretches into Columbia, Montour, Carbon, Schuylkill, Berks, Lebanon and Northumberland counties.

Dan Meuser won the Republican nomination. Dennis Wolff is the Democratic nominee.

Contact the writer:


570-821-2073, @cvmikebuffer