Federal loans available to southeastern Wisconsin residents and businesses affected by flooding

September 8, 2017 GMT

Southeastern Wisconsin businesses and residents affected by some of this summer’s flash floods and flooding may be eligible for low-interest loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration.

Disaster loans are available to residents and businesses in seven Wisconsin counties -- Kenosha, Racine, Walworth, Jefferson, Milwaukee, Rock and Wakesha. Boone, Lake and McHenry counties in Illinois are also eligible.

The loans are part of a disaster declaration by the SBA, administrator Linda McMahon, that was requested by Gov. Scott Walker for the July 11 flooding.