TOURS, France (AP) — German rider John Degenkolb beat Michael Morkov of Denmark and Arnaud Demare of France in a mass sprint to win the Paris-Tours classic on Sunday.

Degenkolb completed the 146 miles from Authon-du-Perche to Tours in 5 hours, 29 minutes, 19 seconds. Morkov took second and Demare third.

Defending champion Marco Marcato of Italy attacked in the Cote de Beau Soleil and was followed by six riders — Degenkolb, Morkov, Jetse Bol of the Netherlands, Sep Vanmarcke of Belgium as well as Frenchmen Demare and Sylvain Chavanel.

Bol escaped 3 miles from the finish but could not hold off a late charge from the pack.