Celebrations, May 5, 2019

May 6, 2019 GMT

Education standouts

Claire Ticknor and Matthew Ticknor of Los Alamos were among more than 500 University of Utah undergraduate students who presented their research projects in the 2019 Undergraduate Research Symposium last month. The symposium highlighted the school’s commitment to undergraduate research.

Claire Ticknor gave a presentation titled “Constructing Neurotrophic Gradient-Generating Peripheral Nerve Conduits”; Matthew Ticknor presented “Parasitic Growth of Gold Nano-Mite Structures.”

• • •

The Santa Fe High School Culinary Team placed third in the New Mexico ProStart Invitational earlier this spring in Albuquerque for its upscale Greek-themed menu, competing against 15 teams. The team was awarded scholarships for students to attend eight different culinary arts and restaurant management schools.


Also placing third in the competition was the Santa Fe High Management Team. The team members, who presented an original restaurant concept to several panels of judges, also were awarded scholarships.

Culinary Team members were Ariana Calderon, Orlando Marquez, Antoinette Martinez, Tanisha Ortiz and Juliana Rivera. Chef Lauren Slaff, of Santa Fe’s kitchenKOACH, was the team mentor. Management Team members were Manuel Garcia, Andrea Paredes, Marisa Pena and Larissa Sanchez.

• • •

The Institute of American Indian Arts’ Low Residency MFA in Creative Writing program has announced that Stacie Denetsosie, a Navajo poet and fiction writer, is the recipient of the 2019-20 MFA Alumni Scholarship.

This full-tuition scholarship is awarded for the student’s four semesters of study in the MFA program.

Denetsosie will begin in the program in the fall 2019 semester.

She received her Bachelor of Science from Utah State University in English with a creative writing emphasis. Following graduation, she was accepted into Utah State’s English Literature and Writing Program, where she taught English composition to incoming first-year students. This spring, she was named Master’s Researcher of the Year for her creative thesis.

• • •

Santa Fe Farm and Livestock Bureau has chosen Patrick C. Torres as the 2019-20 Bud Hagerman Memorial Scholarship recipient. Torres is a 2019 graduate of Pojoaque High School. He is the son of Pat and Eileen Torres

Torres will be attending New Mexico State University with the goal of majoring in agriculture extension and education. He has served as 4-H Club President, vice president, attended the New Mexico Youth Ranch Management Camp, 4-H Senior Leadership Retreat, 4-H State Conference, Steubenville Retreat and Pilgrimage for Vocations.