Related topics

Semifinalists in Stamp Design Contest Listed

October 20, 1994 GMT

WASHINGTON (AP) _ The U.S. Postal Service announced Thursday the 102 finalists in its contest for youngsters to design new environmental postage stamps.

The finalists, one 8 to 10 years old and one 11 to 13 from each state, were selected from more than 150,000 entries submitted.

″Each of the 102 finalists is leaving his or her stamp on America, and we should all feel very proud,″ said Azeezaly S. Jaffer, manager of stamp services for the post office.

Four winning designs will be announced Nov. 17. They will be featured on 200 million first-class stamps to be issued next April.


The 102 finalists each receive a $100 savings bond and a framed copy of their artwork, and the four winners will receive $3,000 in bonds and a trip to Washington for the stamp release ceremony.

The 102 finalists are:

Alabama: Dana Siegleman of Montgomery, Melissa Collins of Opelika.

Alaska: Tashi Dallin of McGrath, Lukas Ketner of Anchorage.

Arizona: Sarah VanSetten of Phoenix, Jason Leon Stock of Winslow.

Arkansas: Joshua Marshall of Pettigrew, Catherine Nobles of Eldorado.

California: Matthew Balestrieri of San Juan Bautista, Eun Young Seo of Montrose.

Colorado: Rachel Denhoed of Aurora, Christy Millard of Lakewood.

Connecticut: Jennifer Michalove of Stonington, Jason Hudak of Wolcott.

Delaware: Michelle Wilson of Blades, Susan Quinn of Wyoming.

District of Columbia: Alison Bloom-Feshbach, Hurshelia Gresholm.

Florida: Katy Jones of Chipley, Alberto Soto Jr. of Miami.

Georgia: Nathan Glossom of Riverdale, Stephen A. Johnson of Atlanta.

Hawaii: Shayna Esteban of Honolulu, Vanessa Silberman of Haena Kanai.

Idaho: Karlee Kimiko Hondo of Burley, Ben Wright of Idaho Falls.

Illinois: Melissa Hoffman of Bourbonnais, Derald Rex Philips of Catlin.

Indiana: Seth Birky or Goshen, Nicholas May of Indianapolis.

Iowa: Daniel Bernston of Paulina, Alan Thomas Anderson of Sergant Bluff.

Kansas: Brandon Purcell of Wichita, Dustin Parker of Wichita.

Kentucky: Lindsey Allen of Pewee Valley, Renee Schmutz of Ashland.

Louisiana: Melody Kiper of Shreveport, Stephanie Mason of Baton Rouge.


Maine: Adam Swartzbaugh of Lincolnville Beach, Brandin M. Turner of Rumford.

Maryland: William R. France III of Rockville, Rachel Kenney of Kensington.

Massachusetts: Lindsay Knowlton of Winthrop, Katy Maker of Wrentham.

Michigan: Eva Hermesmeyer of St. Clair, Nathan Kuzina of Richmond.

Minnesota: Rachael Snavely of Elk River, Jennifer Gurtin of Inver Grove Heights.

Mississippi: Reginald Smart of Shuqualak, Patrick House of Brandon.

Missouri: Taniece Griffin of Kansas City, Jessica Fiechtl of Lexington, Tenn., design submitted while living in Kennett, Mo.

Montana: Marieke Min of Billings, Lisa Hatfield of Columbia Falls.

Nebraska: Cheyanne Swarthout of Beatrice, Sara Nuss-Warren of Scottsbluff.

Nevada: Anita Batra of Los Vegas, Dean Woo of Reno.

New Hampshire: Brendan Casey of Tamworth, Linda S. Breda of Windham.

New Jersey: Jacob Rosser of Somerset, Daniel Bogan of River Edge.

New Mexico: Emilio Villani of Las Cruces, Clifford Griego of Albuquerque.

New York: Katherine McCarville of Albany, Laura Hinds of the Bronx.

North Carolina: Margaret Hope Mills of Rutherfordton, Landon Crow of Cherokee.

North Dakota: Troy Warren of Hope, Tara J. Thorenson of Mandan.

Ohio: Jhaleh Ghassemi of Cleveland, Michele Andrea Dammeyer of Troy.

Oklahoma: Natasha M. Hartsock of Mannford, Lucja Orlowski of Oklahoma City.

Oregon: Monica Whitney of Philomath, Dustin McMahon of Portland.

Pennsylvania: Veronica Hanssens of Philadelphia, Bernadette Giovanelli of Richeyville.

Rhode Island: Abby Fay of Warren, Katie McElroy of Cumberland.

South Carolina: Danielle Solesbee of Campobello, Heather Fillmore of Sumter.

South Dakota: Christina Kopetsky of Frederick, Rachel Goehner of Huron.

Tennessee: Bohne Lipsey of Memphis, Laura Hutfless of Morristown.

Texas: John Nelson of San Antonio, Jessica McCallister of Garland.

Utah: Philip Wolt of Sandy, Brian Hailes of Millville.

Vermont: Leigh-Anne Fowler of Isle La Motte, Eric Martin of South Burlington.

Virginia: David Chung of Fairfax, Mark V. Arduini of Newport News.

Washington: Marshall Adam Huffman of Graham, Katharine Klise of North Bend.

West Virginia: Brittany M. Harney of Fairmont, Zachary L. Sherman of Rupert.

Wisconsin: Kristin Wiseman of New Berlin, Kristin Luger of Manitowoc.

Wyoming: Lyle H. Borders of Cody, Rhiannon Powell of Afton.