Related topics

MEC awards classroom grants

April 6, 2019 GMT

BULLHEAD CITY — Mohave Electric Cooperative has announced the 18 local recipients of its classroom grants.

Terry Puryear, public affairs and communications coordinator at MEC, said that the 50 applicants submitted a very high-quality set of project ideas.

Educators from 15 area schools applied, and the recipients represent 10 of those.

The grants are going to Michelle Sharpe, Bullhead City Middle School; Melinda Robbins, Camp Mohave Elementary School; Jessica Topol, Desert Star Academy; Jodie Bucci, Sonyia Roy and Pamela Walker, Desert Valley Elementary School; Shannon Rockwood and Christine Van Dyn Hoven, Mohave Accelerated Elementary School; Ivan Brown, Arlene Nicolas and Dorothy Rape, Mohave High School; Janae Gold, Montessori Preparatory Academy; Kirk Gebicke and Mike Jackson, River Valley High School; Stephen Alvarez, Sunrise Elementary School and Amber Gaudry and Brittany McLaughlin, Young Scholar’s Academy. Young Scholar’s;


Each will receive $200 for a classroom program and a certificate. They will be honored at a luncheon Friday.

“Having the ability to provide some financial relief to our teachers at no cost to our members is great,” Puryear said. “There are many dedicated teachers on shoestring budgets who have to dig into their own wallets to get what they deem necessary to educate students.”