Namedropper, Dec. 19, 2018

December 19, 2018
1 of 2
Namedropper, Dec. 19, 2018

High notes Riverside Junior Senior High School students William Francis, David Wilce, Jared Yates and Sam Hartman alongside their graphic arts teacher Chris Feerrar were chosen as finalists to represent Pennsylvania in the Samsung Solve for Tomorrow contest. The students, under Feerrar’s direction, are 3D-printing parts to create pet wheelchairs. Local pet rescue centers expressed a need for a variety of sizes of wheelchairs. One rescue, which focuses on cats, said it’s hard to find wheelchairs small enough. William, lead designer; Jared, project leader; David and Sam are working on a design specifically for cats. The grant would allow the students to produce the number of pet wheelchairs needed locally. Their activity plan will be judged based on problem applicability, community involvement/impact, application of STEM studies, feasibility and originality. The nationwide contest challenges students in grades six to 12 to apply science, technology, engineering and math skills to find creative solutions to real-world issues affecting their community. Super students Wyoming Seminary graduates Eli Idec of Tunkhannock and Meghna Melkote of Moosic were named AP Scholars with Distinction by the College Board. Eli and Meghan earned an average grade of at least 3.5 on all AP Exams taken and grades of three or higher on five or more of these exams. Graduate Cecilia Newhart, of West Pittston, and current seniors Jessica Kilyanek, Hughestown, and Nikolai Stefanov, Honesdale, also qualified for the AP Scholar award for completing three or more AP exams with grades of three or higher. About 22 percent of the 2.7 million students who took AP exams in May performed at a level sufficient to merit such recognition. New members Sean McAndrew, Ingargiola Wealth Management Group; Kim Rollman, TMG Health, A Cognizant Company; Todd Pousley, NeighborWorks Northeastern PA; Kayla Guilford, Lackawanna College; Kristyn Smith, Tobyhanna Army Depot; and Mark McHugh, Commonwealth Health/Moses Taylor Hospital; are the newest members to serve on Leadership Lackawanna’s board. The group is the region’s premier community leadership and professional development organization. The board members will serve a three-year term.

Update hourly