Click to copy
Click to copy
Related topics

Kansas St. 32, Missouri 0

November 16, 1991

MANHATTAN, Kan (AP) _ Paul Watson ran for two touchdowns and passed for a third Saturday, leading Kansas State to a rain-soaked 32-0 victory over Missouri that vaulted the Wildcats to their first winning season in nine years and their first shutout in 16.

Kansas State (6-4 overall, 3-3 Big Eight) took advantage of a temporary lull in the cold, driving rain to score four touchdowns in the second quarter as the Tigers (3-6-1, 1-5) broke a 50-year-old team record with 11 fumbles.

Eric Gallon rushed for 184 yards and two touchdowns as Kansas State, the losingest program in major-college football history, notched only its fifth winning season since 1936.

It was the second week in a row that four touchdowns were scored in the second quarter against Missouri, which lost six fumbles and suffered its first defeat in Manhattan in 21 years.

After a scoreless first quarter, the Wildcats scored two touchdowns 20 seconds apart. Watson, the Big Eight’s second-leading passer behind Missouri’s Phil Johnson, capped a 12-play, 83-yard drive with a 2-yard run with 11:15 left in the half. Jason Oliver fumbled the ensuing kickoff and Kirby Holcutt recovered for K-State on the Tiger 24.

Watson hit Michael Smith, K-State’s alltime leading receiver, for 16 yards to the 8. Then Gallon swept around right end for the score.

Missouri fumbled on its next two possessions, and Kansas State made the Tigers pay on the second one, driving 71 yards in six plays to set up Watson’s 3-yard touchdown run. Gallon went around right end for 19 yards, then made a spectacular catch of Watson’s pass, taking the ball away from Missouri defender Jermaine Wilkins for a 39-yard gain to the 4.

A 19-yard Missouri punt got Kansas State started on its next drive, which appeared to stall. But on a fake field goal, Watson hit Russ Campbell with a 15-yard touchdown pass with one second remaining.

Gallon’s 7-yard run climaxed a 60-yard drive and made it 32-0 with 10:19 to go.

All contents © copyright 2019 The Associated Press. All rights reserved.