Related topics

Former OPS board member Nancy Kratky has a chance to regain seat

May 17, 2018 GMT

In the Omaha Public Schools, Nancy Kratky will get another shot at her former seat on the OPS board.

Voters chose Kratky, 81, and Jeff Jezewski, 54, to move on to the November election to represent Subdistrict 6, which covers west Omaha. Current representative Matt Scanlan decided not to run for another term.

Kratky, a retired OPS teacher, sat on the OPS board from 1994 to 2013 before being replaced by Scanlan.

Jezewski is the chief financial officer at Charles Vrana & Son Construction Co. He is an OPS graduate and parent who thinks his numbers sense can help the board navigate budget deficits and pension fund troubles.

In Subdistrict 2, OPS Board President Marque Snow and challenger Marlon Brewer advanced to the November election. Subdistrict 2 includes parts of north and midtown Omaha.

Snow, 30, was first elected to the board in 2013 and says it needs stability. Brewer, 36, is a program director at Apex Foster Care and wants to see the district pay closer attention to achievement gaps between different student groups.

Two OPS board races are uncontested. Shavonna Holman, who was appointed to an OPS seat in 2017, did not face any challengers for her Subdistrict 4 primary. In Subdistrict 8, incumbent Lacey Merica decided not to run again. Kimara Snipe is the only candidate who filed to run for the seat.

Six candidates will compete for three at-large seats in Gretna

Six candidates moved on in the Gretna school board race. These six will vie for three at-large seats in November: incumbents Ann Sackett Wright and David Gulizia, Jennifer Deitloff, Jennifer Bullington, Carsten Ruff and Mark Hauptman.

Eliminated were Carter G. McCann and Adam Thiessen.

Six advance in Bellevue, but not son of former mayor

In the Bellevue school board race, Bill Baldwin, the son of former Bellevue Major Joe Baldwin, failed to make the cut.

The six advancing were incumbents Nina Wolford and Frank J. Kumor, Kelly Bell Wallace, Maureen McNamara, John L. Carozza and John Cook.

For complete coverage, go to omaha.com/election.