Badgers football: Wisconsin’s Paul Chryst named finalist for Paul Bryant Coach of the Year Award

December 15, 2017

For the second straight season, University of Wisconsin coach Paul Chryst has been named a finalist for the Paul Bryant Coach of the Year Award.

Chryst, the consensus Big Ten Coach of the Year, led the Badgers to a 12-1 record this season and owns a 33-7 record in his three years as the program’s head coach.

UW’s 12-0 start marked the Badgers’ first undefeated regular season since 1912.

The other finalists for the award are USC’s Clay Helton, former UCF coach Scott Frost, Auburn’s Gus Malzahn, Army’s Jeff Monken, Georgia’s Kirby Smart and Clemson’s Dabo Swinney. The winner will be announced Jan. 10 in Houston.