Related topics

China Extends Official Recognition to Baltic Republics

September 7, 1991

BEIJING (AP) _ China today announced official recognition of Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania, joining the Soviet Union and scores of other countries that have recognized the Baltics’ break from Moscow.

Beijing’s Communist government apparently had grappled in recent days over whether to extend official recognition to the non-communist Baltic republics, which accelerated their secession drive after last month’s failed coup by Kremlin hard-liners. Beijing cracked down on a pro-democracy movement two years ago.

Foreign Minister Qian Qichen said China is ″ready to develop friendly relations and cooperation with the three countries,″ the Foreign Ministry said in a statement carried by the official Xinhua News Agency.

Today’s announcement came a day after the new Kremlin government dominated by non-communist republics extended its recognition. Washington announced recognition Monday.

Chinese officials on Thursday, Foreign Ministry spokesman Wu Jianmin said China’s relations with the three republics was ″still under study by the relevant departments.″

Update hourly