Click to copy
Click to copy

Bryant sets special elections for 3 Mississippi House seats

January 8, 2019

JACKSON, Miss. (AP) — Gov. Phil Bryant set March 12 special elections for Mississippi House seats that are vacant because three former lawmakers became judges.

Former Rep. Willie Perkins of Greenwood is now a chancery judge. He represented House District 32 in Leflore County.

Former Rep. Adrienne Wooten of Jackson is now a circuit judge. She represented House District 71 in Hinds County.

Former Rep. Brad Touchstone of Hattiesburg is now a county and youth court judge in Lamar County. He represented District 101 in Lamar County.

Perkins and Wooten served in the House as Democrats and Touchstone as a Republican. They won nonpartisan judicial races.

With the vacancies, the House has 73 Republicans and 46 Democrats.

Jan. 21 is candidates’ qualifying deadline for the special House elections. Runoffs, if needed, are April 2.

All contents © copyright 2019 The Associated Press. All rights reserved.