Related topics

AUTO RACING: Auto Racing Glance

May 16, 2018

All Times Eastern



Site: Charlotte, North Carolina.

Schedule: Friday, practice, 11:30 p.m., 12:15 p.m., 1 p.m. & 1:45 p.m. (FS1), qualifying, 6:05 p.m. & 6:35 p.m. (FS1); Saturday, All-Star Open, 6 p.m., FS1, All-Star Race, 8 p.m., FS1.

Track: Charlotte Motor Speedway (oval, 1.5 mile).

Race distance: Open, 75 miles, 50 laps; All-Star, 120 miles, 80 laps.

Last year: Kyle Busch took home the $1 million prize, his first victory in the series at Charlotte.

Last race: Kevin Harvick won his fifth race of 2018 and his second straight at Dover.

Fast facts: Restrictor plates and a 6-inch high spoiler will be used for this weekend’s all-star race. ...Chad Johnston, Kyle Larson’s crew chief, was fined $50,000 and car chief David Bryant was suspended for the next two point races after an improper rear window support was discovered in post-race inspection last week. Bryant will be eligible for Saturday’s race, a non-points event...The series introduced its nine-member NASCAR Next class this week.

Next race: Coca Cola 600, May 27, Charlotte Motor Speedway.

Online: http://www.nascar.com



Last race: Justin Allgaier led 104 of 200 laps to win in Dover.

Next race: Alsco 300, May 26, Charlotte Motor Speedway.

Online: http://www.nascar.com




Site: Charlotte.

Schedule: Friday, practice, 9:05 a.m. and 10:35 p.m., qualifying, 4:40 p.m. (FS1), race, 8:30 p.m., FS1.

Track: Charlotte Motor Speedway.

Race distance: 201 miles, 134 laps.

Last year: Busch led 90 of 134 laps and held off Johnny Sauter to take first.

Last race: Noah Gragson won for the first time in 2018 in Kansas.

Fast facts: Gragson won the pole, led 128 of 167 laps and swept all the stages in Kansas City. Gragson’s win came just a week after a late wreck cost him dearly in Dover. ...Johnny Sauter still leads the series and has a circuit-high 12 playoff points, but Gragson pulled to within 35 points with last week’s victory. Grant Enfinger is third and Brett Moffitt and Ben Rhodes are both 62 points off the lead.

Next race: Rattlesnake 400, June 8, Texas Motor Speedway, Fort Worth, Texas.

Online: http://www.nascar.com



Last race: Will Power won the Grand Prix of Indy from the pole, leading 56 of 85 laps.

Next race: Indianapolis 500, May 27, Indianapolis Motor Speedway, Indianapolis, Indiana.

Online: http://www.indycar.com



Last race: Lewis Hamilton dominated in Barcelona, picking up his second straight win.

Next race: Monaco Grand Prix, May 27, Monaco Circuit, Monte Carlo, Monaco.

Online: http://www.formula1.com




Site: Topeka, Kansas

Schedule: Friday, qualifying, 4:45 & 7:30 p.m.; Saturday, qualifying, 2 & 5 p.m.; Sunday, finals, 3:37 p.m., FS1.

Track: Heartland Motorsports Park.

Last year: Antron Brown took first in Topeka.

Last event: Leah Prichett won in Atlanta two weeks ago.

Fast facts: Ron Capps (Funny Car) and Tanner Gray (Pro Stock) also won in Kansas in 2017. ...Doug Kalitta, who won the season opener in Ponoma, is hoping to put team owner Connie Kalitta one step closer to 100 wins. She’s currently sitting on 98. ...Capps will be seeking his fifth Funny Car victory at Topeka. ...Steve Torrence has a 120-point lead over Tony Schumacher in Top Fuel.

Next race: Route 66 Nationals, June 3, Route 66 Raceway, Elwood, Illinois.

Online: http://www.nhra.com



WORLD OF OUTLAWS: Friday & Saturday, Morgan Cup, Williams Grove Speedway, Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania.

Online: http://www.woosprint.com

All contents © copyright 2019 The Associated Press.All rights reserved.