Officials expect big election day

November 5, 2016 GMT

Alcorn County election officials are expecting a big voter turnout next week. Saturday marked the final day of absentee voting ahead of Tuesday’s election, and Deputy Clerk Crystal Starling said the numbers are record breaking. “This will most likely be our biggest voter turnout we have ever had,” she said. “We will probably break the record for absentees.” As of late Friday afternoon almost 1,420 absentee votes had been cast in Alcorn County. With a little over half a day remaining, Starling said the total number would likely bypass the 2012 contest where the office received 1,434 absentees. The same can’t be said across the state as absentee voting has been “disappointingly down” according to Secretary of State Delbert Hosemann. This year’s lower absentee numbers could forecast a statewide turnout of about 800,000. “That would be less than half of the eligible voters,” he said. Starling said election day will be busy in the Crossroads. “Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. as normal and residents should go to their normal precincts to vote,” she said. “The only change for some folks will be the voter I.D. law.” Because some people only vote in the presidential elections, the office expects to see a few voter I.D. issues. Many types of photo I.D. can be presented — even an expired driver’s license, if it is less than 10 years old. The clerk’s office can issue an I.D. anytime it is open, free of charge, even on election day. Residents who need to make address corrections would need to do so by early Monday in order for them to be included in the poll books. Residents can view a map to their correct voting location and a sample ballot online by visiting www.sos.ms.gov/pollingplace. Tuesday’s ballot will include: President: Hillary Clinton, Donald J. Trump, Darrell Castle, “Rocky” Roque De La Fuente, Jim Hedges, Gary Johnson, Jill Stein U.S. House of Representatives 1st Congressional District: Trent Kelly, Jacob Owens, Cathy L. Toole, Chase Wilson Supreme Court District 3 Position 1: John Brady, Bobby Chamberlin, Steve Crampton, James T. “Jim” Kitchens, Jr. Election Commissioner First District: Keith Jones, Bobby McDaniel Election Commissioner Third District: Billy W. Bearden, Kim M. Ratliff School Board District 1: April Smith Burns, Ricky Fields School Board District 2: Brandon L. Jones, Ann M. Little, Pherbia Mynatt School Board District 3: Daniel Cooper, Keith R. Stevens, Lamar Walker