Community achievers

June 20, 2016 GMT

In the schools

Nicholas Funyak, a 2012 graduate of West High, graduated from the University of Puget Sound with a bachelor’s degree in molecular and cellular biology.

Nicole Marie Voeller was awarded a doctorate degree in dental surgery from the University of Washington School of Dentistry in Seattle. Voeller graduated from West High in 2007 and Carroll College in Powell, Wyo., in 2011 with a chemistry degree.

Amy Hughes, of Billings, has earned a master’s degree in environmental education from the University of Minnesota in Duluth. She works for Urban 4-H and the Three Rivers Park District in Minneapolis.

Michael Hughes, of Billings graduated was recently awarded a Ph.D. in computer science from Brown University in Providence, R.I. He plans to begin a post-doctoral research position at Harvard University in August.

Area students named to the spring 2016 dean’s list at the University of Montana Western in Dillon are: Kody Brown, Katie Bumgarner, Teaje Ellison, Karie Favero, Colter Feuerstein, Kelsie Field, Stevie Humphries, Sheryl Hutzenbiler, Keilei Kohlman, Dylan Kramer, Cameron Krizek, Cree Minkoff, Allicia Stoltz and Monica Tavenner, all of Billings, and Katlyn Skauge of Shepherd.

The area students listed below are degree candidates or have been awarded their degrees for spring semester 2016 at the University of Montana in Missoula. A single asterisk (*) after the student’s name indicates the student is expected to complete degree requirements and graduate with honors by achieving a grade point average of 3.4 or higher. Double asterisks (**) indicate the student is expected to complete degree requirements and graduate with high honors by achieving a 3.7 or higher grade point average. Listed are the students’ hometowns, names, degrees and fields of study.

Bridger: Hannah Goetz, BA anthropology.Laurel: Courtney Bruce**, BA biology; Kayla Gonzales**, BSBAD marketing, CERPS Marketing; Sarah Schied**, BA communication sciences and disorders; Sean Underwood*, PHARMD pharmacy.Park City: Veronica Erlenbush, DPT physical therapy.Red Lodge: Katie Atherly**, BA environmental studies; Reid Edwards, BA psychology; Connor Schultze*, CERPS geography, BS geography; Clancy Theade*, BA communication studies.

Listed below are students named to the 2016 dean’s list and 4.0 list at the University of Montana in Missoula. To qualify for the dean’s list, students must be undergraduates, earn a semester grade point average of 3.5 or higher and receive grades of A or B in at least nine credits. Double asterisks after a name indicate the student earned a grade point average of 4.0. A single asterisk indicates a minimum grade point average of 3.5, but less than 4.0.

Columbus: Mikaela Koski,** Chloe Russell*, Timothy Yeager**.Hardin: Jarvis Weibert*.Joliet: Andria Spring*, Brittany Stevenson*.Laurel: Courtney Bruce*, Katie Conrad*, Kayla Gonzales*, Greyson Hill*, Stephanie Kolb*, Ira Li**, Cooper Love**, Ryan Salacinski**, Sarah Schied*, Savannah Sletten*.Park City: Hazel Bullis,* Michaela Gieser,** Anina Story*.

Abbigail Kuck of Billings, and Krista Joelle Maroney and Daniel Michael Stampe, both of Billings, were named to the president’s honor roll for the 2016 spring semester Washington State University in Pullman. The list recognizes undergraduate students enrolled in a minimum of nine graded hours in a single term and earning a minimum grade point average of 3.75 or earning a minimum cumulative grade point average of 3.50 based on 15 cumulative hours of graded work.

Northwest College in Powell, Wyo., recently named students to its honor rolls.

Area students named to the president’s honor roll are: Nicole Valdez of Billings, Malery Allsup of Columbus and Jordan Eidem of Hardin. To qualify, students must complete at least 12 semester hours of college-level coursework with a 4.0 grade point average.Area students named to the vice president’s honor roll are: Emily Drake, Trenton Flager, Rebecca Kron, Mitchell Lagge and Nora Minch, all of Billings; Tyler Reed and Taylor Schultz, both of Columbus; Kelsy Robinson of Hardin; Saylor Blevins and Eric Dye, both of Red Lodge; and Lindsey Stanina of Shepherd. To qualify, students must complete at least 12 semester hours of college- level coursework with a minimum grade point average of 3.5.Area students named to the dean’s honor roll are: Christina Doane, Chris Field, Lisa Guaghen and Jessica Kraft, all of Billings; Kara Mullins of Bridger; Amy Brehm of Joliet; and Jillian Aukema and Sabrina Morgan, both of Red Lodge. To qualify, students must have earned a minimum of six credit hours in college-level coursework with at least a 3.5 semester grade point average.