Related topics

Clements among solicitors sworn in

January 15, 2019 GMT

FLORENCE, S.C. – Twelfth Circuit Solicitor E.L. “Ed” Clements III was one of six solicitors sworn into office late last week by Chief Justice Donald Beatty of the South Carolina Supreme Court.

The other solicitors sworn in were 3rd Circuit Solicitor Ernest A. “Chip” Finney III, 5th Circuit Solicitor Byron Gipson, 6th Circuit Solicitor Randy E. Newman Jr., 13th Circuit Solicitor W. Walter Wilkins III and 15th Circuit Solicitor Jimmy A. Richardson II.

Clements, a Democrat, ran unopposed in the 2018 election. He was re-elected with 98.65 percent of the vote on Nov. 6.

The 12th Judicial Circuit is one of 16 circuits in South Carolina. It includes Florence and Marion counties.


The position of solicitor is the elected official responsible for prosecuting criminal cases in the circuit courts of the state.