OHV registration event planned today in Laughlin
LAUGHLIN — Today from 8 to 10 a.m., the Nevada Off-Highway Vehicles Program, administered through the Nevada Departments of Conservation and Natural Resources, is holding an event at 101 Civic Way Suite 3 in Laughlin to register any off-highway vehicles.
During this time there will be on-site staff to assist with VIN inspections and OHV registration paperwork.
All OHVs greater than 70cc, and manufactured in 1976 or later are required by Nevada state law under NRS 490 to be registered and sport the required decal to operate legally.
You do not need to register the vehicle if it already is registered for on-road use.
Registration costs $21 per vehicle and can be paid either by a check or money order made payable to the DMV.
A credit or debit card using the payment card slip attached to the forms also works.
After the paperwork is complete, a sticker decal is mailed to the individual for their vehicle. The entire process could take up to two weeks.
“Twenty-one dollars is a drop in the bucket,” OHV Program Manager Nikhil Narkhede said. “We want to push that the funds are going back into the (OHV) community and not just going into some pot.”
The commission on OHV, which is made of nine appointed voting members, is responsible for the allocation of the funds.
Narkhede said a lot of the grant money goes toward outreach and education such as safety courses. However, it also can go to projects such as trail clean-up events or putting on similar registration events.
“Interest in grant applications for trail improvement and anything right now is fair game,” Narkhede said.
As for registration, this is what you need to bring according to https://ohv.nv.gov/.
If the OHV was purchased on or after July 1, 2012, the following is required:
1. If the sales tax is due, proof that sales tax was paid by an Off-Highway Vehicle Report of Sale from a Nevada dealer or a Use Tax Clearance Certificate (Form APP-08.01) from the Department of Taxation. If the sales tax is not due (as in a private party sale), the affidavit available in Form OHV-001C must be completed.
2. Proof you are the owner of the OHV by an ownership document or the affidavit available in Form OHV-001B or OHV-001C.
3. Proof of the vehicle identification number by an Off-Highway Vehicle Report of Sale from a Nevada dealer, a VIN inspection conducted by a Nevada dealer if the OHV was purchased from an out-of-state dealer or the ownership documents if the OHV was previously registered in Nevada.
If the OHV was purchased prior to July 1, 2012, the following is required:
1. Proof the OHV was purchased prior to the effective date by a purchase agreement or the affidavit in Form OHV-001A.
2. Proof you are the owner of the OHV by an ownership document or the affidavit in Form OHV-001A.
3. Proof of the vehicle identification number by a VIN inspection conducted by a Nevada OHV dealer or law enforcement.
All OHVs need to be registered within 30 days of purchase.
If you can’t make this event, transactions are conducted through mail or a Nevada licensed OHV dealer.
For more information, go to https://ohv.nv.gov/.