Click to copy
Click to copy

7 of 8 Pasadena council incumbents re-elected

May 6, 2019

Incumbents won six of seven contested races for Pasadena City Council in the May 4 election, with District A council member Felipe Villarreal losing to Ornaldo Ybarra, who previously had served eight years in that seat.

In unofficial results, Ybarra, a lieutenant with the Pearland Police Department, received 342 votes, or almost 79 percent, compared with 92 for Villareal, who was seeking re-election to a second term.

Ybarra, 40, who left office in 2017 due to term limits, campaigned on a platform that included cutting the property tax rate and garbage rates.

All eight seats on the council were open for election, with District D Councilman Sammy Casados running unopposed.

District B incumbent Bruce Leamon earned almost 55 percent of votes to defeat Steve Halvorson, a research director for Baylor College of Medicine, and Blanca Sanchez, a former telemarketer.

The election was a rematch of a 2017 contest between Leamon and Halvorson that Leamon won by 9 votes.

In District C, Don Harrison earned more than 54 percent of the vote to defeat investor Jaimy Blanco.

District E City Councilman Cody Ray Wheeler defeated credit manager Joseph Thomas with more than 54 percent of the vote.

District F incumbent Phil Cayten earned more than 79 percent of the vote in his victory over elevator constructor Sam Tijerina.

District G incumbent Cary Bass gained almost 74 percent of the vote to defeat Mary A. Vargas.

District H incumbent Thomas Schoenbein won a second term by garnering more than 65 percent of the vote against attorney Lori Laird.

All contents © copyright 2019 The Associated Press. All rights reserved.