Related topics

SPC champ Episcopal tops TAVC awards

January 17, 2018 GMT

The Texas Association of Volleyball Coaches released its SPC and TAPPS all-state teams after a successful season for several area schools. Houston SPC teams highlighted the honors, with finalists Episcopal and Houston Christian combining for four superlative awards.

Episcopal senior and Alabama signee Mylana Byrd was voted SPC MVP by the TAVC. The versatile setter led the Knights with 634 assists and 74 blocks while ranking among the team leaders with 222 digs, 146 kills and 46 aces.

Amanda Watts received Coach of the Year after leading the Knights to a 29-6 record and their first conference crown since 1998. Knights freshman Sania Petties earned Newcomer of the Year after posting 140 kills and 33 aces.

Houston Christian senior outside hitter/defensive specialist and Oklahoma Baptist University signee Kyndall Ellis was voted Defensive Player of the Year. She led the Mustangs to their first SPC final.

Episcopal’s Trinity Watts and Brennan Howell, Houston Christian’s Samantha Leverenz, Kennadie Jake-Turner and Alexandra Lewis of St. John’s, and Kinkaid’s Onuchi Ndee and Julia Lasater landed spots on the TAVC all-SPC team.

St. Agnes led local teams with four TAPPS all-state selections by the TAVC, as Megan Hanratty, Quinn Biggio, Kathleen Leyendecker and Sahara Maruska made the list.

Incarnate Word’s Ashlie Kindla, St. John XXIII’s Calli Collins and St. Pius X’s Karli Stewart were among the 6A all-state selections.

Second Baptist’s Anna DeJong and Lauren Williams and Fort Bend Christian’s Abigail Lin and Camryn O’Leary earned all-state honors in 5A, with Houston Southwest Christian’s Camille Valdeavilla and Esperanza Graham earning 1A spots.