Related topics

Pearland’s Gaston, Dawson’s White among 23-6A honorees

March 13, 2019 GMT

Pearland’s De’Yona Gaston was named most valuable player while Dawson’s Angelica White was selected defensive player of the year in voting on the all-District 23-6A girls’ basketball team.

Others earning top individual honors were Tatiyanna Riley of Alief Hastings, offensive player of the year, and Savannah Velazquez of George Ranch, newcomer of the year.

Alief Taylor’s Brandy Jones was chosen coach of the year.

First team members included Macey Braswell of Pearland; Kyra Lunford of Dawson; JaQuirrea Jenkins and Jawain Caston of Alief Taylor; Sandra Chuks, Ernescia Ford and Jada Shanklin of Alief Elsik; Jaedyn Dunn of George Ranch; Jazzmen Robinson of Brazoswood; and Danecia Trusty of Alief Hastings.


Second team members included Madison Gissendanner of Pearland; Olivia Johnson of Dawson; Mi’lan Miller, Amillion Fowler and Isabella Little of George Ranch; Kamiya Royal of Alief Taylor; Katie Andel of Brazoswood; Jakiya Thompsona nd Delore Okeke of Alief Elsik; and Shariah Houston-Hartman of Alief Hastings.

Honorable mention selections included Brae’lyn Younger and Camryn Perry of Dawson; Kyah Barlow of Pearland; Diamond Williams and Jacqarri Woodley of Alief Elsik; Diavian King and Kierra Wright of Alief Taylor; Tamerian Lemons of Alief Hastings; Lauren Krouch of George Ranch; and Christina Bolton of Brazoswood.