Related topics

Firefighter named Sugar Land employee of the year

December 17, 2018 GMT

Sugar Land City Manager Allen Bogard recently named firefighter/paramedic Warren Phillips as employee of the year during the 2018 Employee Banquet.

The city’s employee of the year is selected from a group of champion employees who are nominated by their peers based on organizational values that include open and honest communications, accountability, multicultural, people first and superior service.

“We had an unprecedented number of winners this year — 38 amazing champions to choose from, and it was a tough decision,” said Bogard. “While Warren has only been with the city since 2013, he displays a passion for superior service. He is a U.S. Army veteran who led a group of soldiers and marines in combat operations and helps ensure that our city remains safer than ever before.”


Phillips is one of two Sugar Land Fire-EMS Department employees who serve on the West Fort Bend Regional SWAT team. He spearheaded two major projects last year, including a mass casualty evaluation for SWAT and an intra-department active shooter policy.

His leadership in the creation of medical plans for SWAT includes direct communication with Memorial Hermann Life Flight to determine landing zones and stand-by periods. His planning expertise also includes work with trauma centers to identify multiple contingencies for medical emergencies.

In addition, Phillips worked with Sugar Land-Ironman Sports Medicine Institute to implement a “Tactical Athlete Program” for the SWAT team. He also serves as an instructor for Sugar Land, Rice University, Memorial Hermann Life Flight, the Fulsher Police Department and other agencies, teaching classes that include a Tactical Combat Casualty Care class for police officers. The course provides the essentials of caring for wounds during firefights.

“The future lives that will be saved by this class can’t be measured,” said Fire Chief Doug Boeker. “Warren’s unique expertise has steadily increased the performance and quality of the SWAT team as well as Fire-EMS operations. In fact, he is the only member of our department to have ever performed an emergency cricothyrotomy in the field, a procedure where a hole is opened in your throat and a breathing tube is inserted.”

Phillip’s selection as employee of the year was made from the following group of champion employees, including Miguel Gonzales, Airport; Natalie Serrano, City Manager’s Office; Sandy Fontenot, Police; Lawrence, Heffernan, Parks; Geoff Cummings, Engineering; Juanita Yarneau, Purchasing; Joe Bermudez, Public Works; Mitchell Davies, Airport; Herberth Alvarado, Facilities; Sean Morales, Fire; Melvin Ceasar, Police; Mary Seto, Economic Development; Erika Stroud, Public Safety Dispatch; Jose Mora, Parks; James Posey, Permits and Inspections; Kellynn Sembera, Information Technology; Katie Senior, Airport; Hong Ky, Police; Robert Hazelrig, Environmental and Neighborhood Services; Mario Diaz, Public Works; Christopher Bijarro, Public Safety Dispatch; Abel Cantu, Public Works; Lisa Mejorado, Police; Robert Schulte, Permits and Inspections; Michelle Carroll, Planning; Blanca Kennedy, Engineering; Sam West, Airport; Mark Hoover, City Secretary; Terry Phillips, Fleet; Darren Bullock, Public Works; Carrie Davis, Public Safety Dispatch; Joshua Doyle, Permits and Inspections; Tommie Jackson, Parks; Mike Wilkinson, Public Works; Sharon Shapiro, Finance; Joe Moreno, Public Works; and Marissa Morgan, Permits and Inspections.