Click to copy
Click to copy

Headliners Foundation of Texas announces journalism awards

May 3, 2018

AUSTIN, Texas (AP) — The Headliners Foundation of Texas has announced winners of its statewide Charles E. Green Award contest to recognize the best in Texas journalism during 2017.

Winners were announced Thursday in 11 categories involving print, broadcast and online formats. Winners each receive a $1,000 prize, plus recognition at the group’s Mike Quinn Awards luncheon on Saturday, Sept. 29, at the Headliners Club in Austin.

The contest places division-level winners of awards from the Texas Associated Press Managing Editors and Texas Associated Press Broadcasters in competition.

The Charles E. Green Award winners are:

Best Television Reporter

Bill Churchwell

KIII-TV, Corpus Christi

Best Television Investigative Report

“Criminal Caretakers”

Charlotte Huffman

WFAA-TV, Dallas-Fort Worth

Best Spot News Coverage by a Television Station

“Hurricane Harvey: Days of Devastation”

KPRC 2 News, Houston

Best Radio Reporter

Christopher Connelly

KERA Radio, Dallas-Fort Worth

Best Spot News Coverage by a Radio Station

“Northlake College Shooting”

KRLD News Radio 1080, Dallas-Fort Worth

Star Reporter of the Year

Mike Hixenbaugh

Houston Chronicle

Star Investigative Report of the Year

“Serial Indifference”

Houston Chronicle

Star Photojournalist of the Year

Michael Ciaglo

Houston Chronicle

Star Opinion Writer of the Year

Dave Miller

Killeen Daily Herald

Star Breaking News Report of the Year

Hurricane Harvey Coverage

Houston Chronicle

Overall Excellence Across The Associated Press Organizations for Best Online Package

“7/7 - The Mobile Experience”

WFAA-TV, Dallas-Fort Worth


All contents © copyright 2019 The Associated Press. All rights reserved.