Australia wins toss, bats in 2nd ODI against India

January 15, 2019
1 of 2
India's M.S. Dhoni dives to make his ground during a attempted run out by Australia during their one day international cricket match in Sydney, Saturday, Jan. 12, 2019. (AP Photo/Rick Rycroft)

ADELAIDE, Australia (AP) — Australia captain Aaron Finch won the toss and elected to bat Tuesday in the second limited-overs cricket international against India.

Though a day-nighter, the match is likely to be played in extreme heat.

Australia retained the same lineup that won the first match by 34 runs to take a lead in the three-match series.

India selected fast bowler Mohammed Siraj to make his one-day international debut. The right-armer has previously played three Twenty20 internationals.


Australia: Aaron Finch (captain), Alex Carey, Usman Khawaja, Shaun Marsh, Peter Handscomb, Marcus Stoinis, Glenn Maxwell, Peter Siddle, Jhye Richardson, Nathan Lyon, Jason Behrendorff.

India: Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli (captain), Ambati Rayudu, Dinesh Karthik, M.S. Dhoni, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj.

Umpires: Sam Nogajski, Australia, and Richard Kettleborough, England.

TV umpire: Michael Gough, England. Match referee: Andy Pycroft, Zimbabwe.


More AP Cricket: www.apnews.com/Cricket and https://twitter.com/AP_Sports

All contents © copyright 2019 The Associated Press.All rights reserved.