Skagit County with about 30 ballots left to count

November 22, 2018 GMT

MOUNT VERNON — The Skagit County Elections Department has about 30 ballots left to count before it can certify the results of the Nov. 6 general election.

When an updated ballot count was released Wednesday afternoon, the department had counted 55,460 ballots, which is a turnout of 73 percent of registered voters in the county.

All the races on the county ballot remain unchanged since the first totals were released on election night.

In county races, Sandy Perkins leads Mike Urban by 5,764 votes for county auditor, Jackie Brunson is 6,899 votes ahead of Bradley Whaley for county treasurer, Laura Riquelme leads Rosemary Kaholokula by 3,753 votes for Superior Court judge, and Joe Lindquist leads Robbie Robertson by 15,257 votes for Skagit Public Utility District commissioner.


The county charter measure is failing by 16,917 votes, the sales tax increase to fund the Anacortes Transportation Benefit District is passing by 1,726, and the Sedro-Woolley school bond has 5,676 no votes and 5,601 yes votes.

The bond, which has been approved by about 50 percent of voters in the school district, requires 60 percent approval to pass.

In state Legislature races, leaders in contested races are Norma Smith (10th District, House), Dave Paul (10th District, House), Keith Wagoner (39th District, Senate), Robert J. Sutherland (39th District, House), Carolyn Eslick (39th District, House) and Debra Lekanoff (40th District, House).

Cecily Hazelrigg-Hernandez continues to lead Tom SeGuine for a judge seat on the state Court of Appeals, while national legislative leaders remain the three incumbents — Maria Cantwell (Senate), Suzan DelBene (House, District 1) and Rick Larsen (House, District 2).