Joe’s Morning Sports-Tuesday, June 5, 2018

June 6, 2018

The Washington Capitals’ first chance to hoist the Stanley Cup comes Thursday in Las Vegas after a 6-2 thumping of the Golden Knights in the nation’s capital last night. The Golden Knights are in their first year in the NHL while the Caps haven’t won a cup in their 43-year history. T.J. Oshie, Tom Wilson and Devante Smith-Pelly all scored in the first period and Washington cruised from there last night to take a 3-1 series lead.

Dwight Clark will forever be remembered for one iconic moment, his leap in the back of the end zone to make a fingertip grab of a game-winning touchdown that launched the San Francisco 49ers dynasty and is one of the most indelible images in NFL history. Clark, the author of one play simply known as “The Catch,” died yesterday just more than one year after revealing he had ALS. He was 61.

Nebraska has its next quarterback. The Omaha World Herald reports that four-star athlete Luke McCaffrey announced his commitment to Nebraska yesterday. McCaffrey is the top rated player out of the state of Colorado and the 17th ranked athlete in the 2019 class, according to 247sports composite. Nebraska quarterbacks coach Mario Verduzco recruited McCaffrey as a quarterback. McCaffrey is the son of Ed McCaffrey, who caught 55 touchdowns in the NFL. He is also the brother of Christian, who plays for the Carolina Panthers and was a Heisman Trophy finalist as a running back at Stanford. Luke is the highest-rated commit in the 2019 class for Nebraska. The Huskers have seven commits in the 2019 class.

Three Nebraska football greats are among 76 players from the Football Bowl Subdivision announced as finalists yesterday for the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame. Huskers on the 2019 ballot for induction into the Hall of Fame include Heisman-winning quarterback Eric Crouch, and a pair of Outland Trophy winning offensive linemen in Zach Wiegert and Larry Jacobson. Crouch is on the ballot for the eighth straight year, Wiegert is making his fourth appearance on the ballot and Jacobson is a new addition to the Hall of Fame ballot. The 2019 class will be announced on Jan. 7, 2019, in Santa Clara, Calif. on the day of the College Football Playoff championship game.

The Chicago Bears have re-signed veteran tight end Zach Miller to a one-year contract, clearing the way for him to return from a gruesome injury last October that nearly cost him his left leg. The former Nebraska-Omaha standout tore an artery while dislocating his knee trying to make a touchdown catch during the Week Eight game at New Orleans. He has undergone at least eight surgeries since then, but was walking on his own by late December. Miller has spent the past three seasons with the Bears, starting 28 of 33 games while making 101 receptions for 1,161 yards and 11 touchdowns. He also spent three seasons with Jacksonville.

Omaha native Alec Bohm was selected third overall in the Major League Baseball Draft by the Philadelphia Phillies yesterday according to the Lincoln Journal Star. The Wichita State junior third baseman starred at Omaha Roncalli and was undrafted out of high school. But Bohm made an immediate impact in college, hitting a homer in his first at-bat with the Shockers. He hit .317 with 40 doubles, 33 homers and 126 RBIs over three seasons. Bohm batted .339 with 16 homers and 55 RBIs this past season. He is the highest Nebraska native taken in the draft since Alex Gordon was taken second overall in the 2005 draft.

The Sixth annual Northeast Nebraska All-Star Football Classic will be played on Saturday at 12:00 at Norfolk’s Veteran’s Memorial Field. 72 of the top graduating senior football players throughout Northeast and North Central Nebraska make up the rosters of the two teams. Lutheran High Northeast’s Darin Suckstorf will coach the 36-player ‘Red’ team while Battle Creek’s Andrew Carlson will coach the 36-player ‘White’ squad. Lutheran High Northeast’s Max Kant & Norfolk Catholic’s Kevin Miller will be assistant coaches for the ‘Red’ while Norfolk High’s Jeremy Weidner is an assistant for the ‘White’. Athletes on the ‘Red’ team include Norfolk Catholic’s Sam Cantu, Chace Clausen, Payton Love & Kelby Schaefer. Also on the roster are Lutheran High Northeast’s Tyler Brand, Blake Freudenburg, Seth Knapp & Korrell Koehlmoos. Representing the ‘White’ squad are Norfolk High’s Mason Flaherty, Dalton Freiberg Zack James & M.J. Montgomery.

The 21st annual Northeast Nebraska Volleyball Classic will be held on Saturday at 3:00 at the Cox Activities Center at Northeast Community College. Representing the ‘Dark’ team will be West Point-Beemer’s Katie Pilakowski, Wayne’s Kylie Hammer, West Holt’s Bailey Kraus, Stanton’s Hannah Heppner, Ewing’s Bailey Schindler, Humphrey St. Francis’ Logan Wemhoff, and Elgin Public/Pope John’s Nickol Payne, Calli Krebs, Paige Meis, & Grace Henn. The ‘Dark’ squad will be coached by Elgin Public/Pope John’s Tina Thiele-Blecher & Stanton’s Tracy Kuester-Burtwistle. Making up the ‘Light’ team will be Norfolk High’s Kyla Moore, Lutheran High Northeast’s Emma Rosberg, Wynot’s Julia Eskens, Wisner/Pilger’s Maci Batenhorst & Lauren Jacobsen, Battle Creek’s Taya Johnson, Rock County’s Caitlin Orton, and Hartington Cedar Catholic’s Maddie Arens, Anna Reifenrath, and Ashley Hamilton. The ‘Light’ squad will be coached by Lutheran High Northeast’s Kathy Gebhardt & Hartington Cedar Catholic’s Danae Buss.

Checking out the local schedule for today, in baseball, the Norfolk Seniors visit Grand Island Home Federal in a 5:00 doubleheader, the Omaha Storm Chasers host El Paso at 7:05, and the Kelly’s 18s softball team entertain the Columbus Bullets in a 7:00 doubleheader.

Local Schedule: Nfk Seniors at Grand Island Home Federal (Bsbl DH-5:00); Columbus Bullets at Kelly’s 18’s (SB DH-7:00); El Paso at Omaha Storm Chasers (Bsbl-7:05).

CBS Sports Radio at 105.9 WJAG-FM & 780 AM Mon-Fri at 6:00 PM; Sat at 4:00; & Sun at 1:00. Also, the home of the Kansas City Royals!


Final N-Y Yankees 7 Detroit 4

Final Detroit 4 N-Y Yankees 2

Final L-A Angels 9 Kansas City 6



Final San Diego 11 Atlanta 4

Final San Francisco 10 Arizona 3