Governor names five to serve as UNM regents

February 11, 2019 GMT

Gov. Michelle Lujan Grisham announced Saturday that she has named five people to the University of New Mexico Board of Regents.

Their appointments are subject to confirmation by the state Senate.

Her appointees are:

• Kimberly Sanchez Rael for a six-year term. Rael’s background is in business, and she served on the New Mexico State Board of Finance from 2003 to 2009.

• Sandra K. Begay for a four-year term. Begay, whose background is in science, most recently worked on development and management of renewable energy at Sandia National Laboratories’ Indian Energy Program.


• Robert Schwartz for a six-year term. Schwartz has more than 40 years of experience teaching law at colleges around the world. He spent most of his career at the University of New Mexico School of Law.

• Douglas M. Brown for a four-year term. Brown has more than 50 years of experience in finance and heads Brown and Brown Ventures in Albuquerque. He served on the UNM Board of Regents from 2003-05, and also worked as New Mexico’s state treasurer.

• Melissa C. Henry as the student board member for a two-year term. Henry is a licensed mental health counselor who is working on her doctorate in counselor education.

“I am proud to nominate this incredible group that I am confident will be dedicated to ensuring equity, ​responsibility, and accountability at the University of New Mexico,” Lujan Grisham said in a statement. “I eagerly look forward to their stewardship of New Mexico’s flagship university.”