WRESTLING: Havasu’s Thomas third, Parra sixth at state

February 9, 2019 GMT

Lake Havasu junior Jared Thomas pointed an escape in the third period of the consolation final to earn third place at 160 pounds in the AIA Division III state wrestling tournament on Friday in Prescott Valley.

Thomas, who entered the tournament as one of the top seeds after securing a sectional win last week, was knocked to the consolation round after a loss in the semifinals on Thursday, but responded with a dominant victory in his first match of the day.

Wrestling in the consolation semifinals, Thomas earned a 10-1 major decision victory over Phoenix Washington’s Muzaffar Muzaffaro to advance to the third place match.

Facing Section 4 champ Dallin Lewis of Snowflake in the consolation final, the two wrestlers traded takedowns in the first two rounds, setting up a third period tied at 2-2.

“Jared went in real strong, kept his distance,” Havasu coach Ryan Schuman said.

“He ran his game plan to a T. He threw the kid down and waited for him to make a mistake and capitalized on it.”

Thomas opened the period down, and earned an escape to take a one-point lead. He attempted to shoot for a takedown and some insurance points, but in the end didn’t need them, holding on for the medal.

“Jared did an amazing job, but I’m proud of all of them,” Schuman said.

Havasu senior Earle Parra finished sixth at 132 pounds, forfeiting his final two matches after suffering a concussion in the consolation semifinals.

Parra, who lost in extra time on the first day to fall to the wrestleback rounds, was expected to do well on the second day after a second place finish last year.

His day started out on track, beating Mingus’ Isaac McKean in an 8-4 decision to advance to the placing rounds.

In a match with Section 2 champ Malik Shuaibe-Jones of Tempe Marcos de Niza, Parra caught a chin to the head and later landed on his face, officials calling off the match for safety.

Walden Grove held off Yuma for the Division III team title, finishing with 185.5 points and three individual champions.