Marshall, Bush, Elkins rack up basketball awards

April 13, 2017 GMT

Fort Bend ISD boys basketball teams produced another exceptional season, amassing 13 postseason victories and another state tournament appearance, courtesy of Marshall’s state final run in Class 5A.

The contributing talent was recognized at the district, region and state levels. The Texas Association of Basketball Coaches honored Marshall seniors Jabari Rice and John Walker with all-state selections, while Bush junior guards Peter Byrd and Bryson Etienne, Travis senior guard Cameron Hill and Elkins senior guard Chandler Jacobs earned all-region status.

Marshall finished 32-8, including a memorable playoff run that included victories against Sterling, Humble, Port Arthur Memorial, Waco University, Manvel and Justin Northwest. The Buffalos became the seventh FBISD team this century to reach the state tournament.

Senior Taz Sherman joined Walker and Rice on the District 23-5A first team, as Marshall tied Texas City for the runner-up spot at 13-3. The Buffalos won the Conroe Christmas Classic before posting the best offense in 23-5A at 80.1 points per league contest.

Led by 23-5A Coach of the Year Albert Thomas, Elkins claimed its third consecutive district championship with a 14-2 record and a league-leading 47.4 points allowed per game. Jacobs led the Knights with 14.1 points, 5.8 rebounds, 3.5 assists and 2.5 steals while shooting 48 percent from the field and 85 percent from the free-throw line, earning the 23-5A MVP award.

Senior forwards Larry Kuimi and Morgan Armstrong represented the Knights on the all-district first team. Kuimi averaged 13.4 points and 6.6 rebounds, adding 50 blocks while shooting 57 percent. Armstrong contributed 9.8 points and 4.8 rebounds, shooting 63 percent.

Elkins finished 25-8, closing the regular season with an eight-game district winning streak and adding playoff wins against Waltrip and Beaumont Central.

Bush maintained its status as a perennial power, winning a fifth consecutive district crown and reaching its fourth regional championship game in eight years as part of its 10th consecutive postseason. The Broncos opened the season with a 4-1 showing at the McDonald’s Texas Invitational, with the only loss in overtime, and finished 29-5 including playoff wins against Seven Lakes, Westside, Cinco Ranch and Dawson.

Led by 20-6A Coach of the Year Ronnie Courtney, co-MVPs Byrd and Etienne, and first-team selection Remy Minor, the Broncos dominated District 20-6A. They finished 14-0 in league play, with an average score of 73-51.

Travis was the 20-6A runner-up with an 11-3 mark. The Tigers finished 25-9 overall, reached the Fort Bend ISD Raising Cane’s Tournament final and defeated Tompkins in the bi-district round for a ninth consecutive season of playoff advancement.

The Tigers will graduate an accomplished senior class that includes first-team all-district selections Cameron Hill, Sage Tolbert and Morris Udeze. Point guard Hill made his third consecutive all-district team.

Austin achieved its first playoff berth since 1999, led by first-team all-district junior point guard Eden Holt. The Bulldogs finished 19-14 overall and 9-5 in district play. They were a basket away from the postseason in 2016 but clinched with a game remaining this winter.

Among the Bulldogs’ regular season highlights was reaching the Pearland ISD Classic final. They started district action 4-0 including a victory against Travis.

Ridge Point had two first-team selections in junior forward Nigheal Ceaser and junior guard Andrew Clopton, as the Panthers made the playoffs in their first year in 6A. Ceaser averaged a double-double with 13.5 points and 10.5 rebounds while making 58 blocks and shooting 58 percent. Clopton added 13.3 points and 2.6 steals per game, shooting 36 percent from beyond the arc.

Ridge Point finished 17-15, 8-6 in league action. The Panthers won five of six games down the stretch to claim the fourth and final playoff spot in 20-6A.

Hightower had two all-district first-team performers in senior guard Jalen Dunlap and junior forward Derrick Geddis. The Hurricanes finished only a game from returning to the playoffs at 7-7, also reaching the Brazosport Holiday Classic final during non-district play.

Kempner junior guard Jacoby Cherry earned a first-team selection after leading the Cougars with 11.1 points per game. Clements sophomore Auston Chatman was voted 20-6A Newcomer of the Year.


MVP: Peter Byrd, Jr., Bush; Bryson Etienne, Jr., Bush

Newcomer: Auston Chatman, Soph., Clements

Coach: Ronnie Courtney, Bush

First team: Nigheal Ceaser, Jr., Ridge Point; Jacoby Cherry, Jr., Kempner; Andrew Clopton, Jr., Ridge Point; Jalen Dunlap, Sr., Hightower; Derrick Geddis, Jr., Hightower; Cameron Hill, Sr., Travis; Eden Holt, Jr., Austin; Remy Minor, Jr., Bush; Sage Tolbert, Sr., Travis; Morris Udeze, Sr., Travis

Second team: Golden Amadi, Sr., Travis; Trevion Bradley, Sr., Bush; Nixon Chikere, Jr., Austin; Dymond Hanks, Sr., Austin; Greg Harbor, Jr., Kempner; Angus Montoute, Sr., Kempner; Andrew Reed, Jr., Ridge Point; Emmanuel Tobias, Sr., Dulles; Derrick Williams, Jr., Austin


MVP: Chandler Jacobs, Sr., Elkins

Newcomer: Tyron Henry, Soph., Shadow Creek

Coach: Albert Thomas, Elkins

First team: John Walker, Sr., Marshall; Jabari Rice, Sr., Marshall; Larry Kuimi, Sr., Elkins; Johan Rodriguez, Sr., Texas City; Jalen Preston, Jr., Manvel; Jason Scott, Sr., Manvel; Taz Sherman, Sr., Marshall; Brian Bell, Sr., Ball; Jalen Davis, Sr., Galena Park; Michael Walker, Sr., Texas City; Josh Fields, Sr., Ball; Morgan Armstrong, Sr., Elkins; Simeon Soname, Jr., Shadow Creek

Second team: Yeskin Williams, Sr., Manvel; Jalen Knott, Sr., Willowridge; James Scott, Sr., Texas City; Israel Boyd, Sr., Willowridge; Adrian Sherwood, Jr., Texas City; Wentrell Williams, Sr., Elkins; Calexiun Hollinquest, Sr., Willowridge; Lester Powers, Sr., Manvel; Tee’Shawn Garrett, Jr., Texas City; Robert Means, Sr., Elkins; Floyd Nzamba, Sr., Marshall; Kenan Mitchell, Jr., Shadow Creek; Jacoree Evans, Jr., Texas City; Javon Elliott Jr., Sr., Ball; Anthony Norman, Jr., Marshall