Mroczek, NU Indoor Track win Big 10 title

March 1, 2019 GMT

Citizens of Columbus might have recognized a familiar face if they watched the Big Ten indoor track and field championships on Friday and Saturday.

Cody Mroczek, a 2017 Scotus Central Catholic graduate, was a member of the Nebraska indoor track and field team that won a Big Ten championship.

Mroczek ran the second leg of the distance medley relay team. He posted a 47.22 split time on his 400-meter leg.

The relay team finished in fifth with a mark of 9:51.81.

It was an overall successful weekend for the Huskers.

Head coach Gary Pepin won the Big Ten coach of the year for the indoor season, and UNL scored enough to top second-place Indiana for back-to-back conference titles.

It was a close competition that came down to the final race.

The final race was the men’s 4x400-meter relay. The Husker team was comprised of Givon Washington, Tony Nou, Elijah Lucy and Isaiah Hutchinson.

The team finished fifth with a time of 3 minutes, 9.12 seconds - enough to stay ahead of the Hoosiers.

Nebraska finished with 93 team points, while Indiana had 91.

This was the first back-to-back conference titles since 2012, and the 67th men’s title in UNL history (38th indoor title).

Luke Siedhogg won a silver medal in the 60-meter hurdles and a time of 7.83 seconds.

Another silver medal came from Jared Seary placing second in the heptathlon with 5,757 points.

Two Husker women won gold medals - Angela Mercurio won the triple jump and Lakayla Harris won the 60-meter sprint.

Jasmine Barge took home a silver medal in the 60-meter hurdles with a time of 8.30.

Four athletes from UNL qualified for the NCAA indoor national championships.

Mayson Conner qualified in the high jump, Seary and Cale Wagner will be competing in the heptathlon and Mercurio will jump in the triple jump.

The championships, hosted by the University of Alabama at Birmingham and the City of Birmingham, will be held March 8 and 9 at the Birmingham CrossPlex in Birmingham, Alabama.

Peter Huguenin is a sports reporter for The Columbus Telegram. Reach him via email at sports@columbustelegram.com