SYRACUSE, N.Y. (AP) — Syracuse has tabbed defensive tackle Jay Bromley, center Macky MacPherson, tailback Jerome Smith and linebacker Marquis Spruill as team captains for the upcoming season.

Bromley is a two-year starter and anchor of the defensive line, MacPherson is a candidate for the Rimington Award presented to the nation's best center, Smith gained 1,171 yards on 227 carries last season, and Spruill, a three-year starter, earned second team All-Big East honors last year.

The four were selected by a team vote.