Memorial girls, FBCA boys swim to Election Day Sprint Challenge wins

November 13, 2018 GMT

Freestyle swimmer Alissa Bowers and butterflier Daniela Fraga helped guide Memorial’s girls swim team to an 88-57 win over Pasadena in the Election Day Sprint Challenge at the PISD pool.

In the boys division, Pasadena-First Baptist Christian Academy, sparked by the efforts of the Brown brothers, held off Sam Rayburn 63-49.

Fraga won the 100-yard individual medley in 1:31.67 seconds and the 50-yard butterfly in 43.36, while Bowers came out on top in the 100-yard freestyle with the time of 1:27.11.

Winning the busiest race of the day in the girls division was Pasadena freshman Julia Bownds and her time of 35.48. She held off 11 other swimmers for the victory. A mere one second behind was Memorial freshman Katelyn Padilla and right behind her was teammate Judith Castillo.


Pasadena’s Victoria Villarreal defeated FBCA’s MacKenzie McCombs in a tight race for 50-yard backstroke supremacy. Villarreal touched the wall at 47.20 seconds and McCombs reached the finish in 47.62.

But McCombs won the 25-yard freestyle in 18.93 seconds.

FBCA’s Caroline VanDever secured the win in the 50-yard breaststroke with the time of 46.43 seconds, easily defeating three Memorial swimmers.

The Browns - either Christopher or Harrison - captured three victories to pace the Warriors.

Christopher Brown took the 100-yard IM in 1:10.85, defeating his younger brother and his time of 1:11.16.

Christopher Brown returned to take the 100-yard freestyle in 1:04.80. Teammate Stephen Lawson was next at 1:10.30.

Harrison Brown didn’t have to concern himself with Christopher in the 50-yard backstroke. The FBCA freshman bumped off Brian Stricklan by a 33.14-36.81 difference.

FBCA’s Timothy Henry did his part to give the Warrior boys the win when he claimed the 50-yard freestyle in 30.81 seconds, defeating Sam Rayburn’s Rakhymzhan Duisek by three seconds.

There were two mixed races, one in the 200-yard medley relay and the other in the 200 freestyle relay.

FBCA captured both races. The freestyle race saw the team of VanDever, Henry, McCombs and Lawson chisel out the time of 2:28.59, 16 seconds faster than their nearest competitor.

In the medley relay, McCombs, Christopher Brown, Harrison Brown and VanDever secured the time of 2:42.74, six seconds faster than the Sam Rayburn team.