Click to copy
Click to copy

Perth Glory move into 1st place in Australia’s A-League

November 11, 2018

SYDNEY (AP) — Perth strikers Andy Keogh and Chris Ikonomidis scored in a 2-0 away win against Adelaide United to move the Glory into first place in the A-League.

Both scored tap-ins Sunday to extend Perth’s unbeaten start to the season to three wins and a draw.

The Brisbane Roar came back from a 2-0 deficit to draw Western Sydney 2-2. Two goals in the first 17 minutes to Spanish striker Oriel Riera gave the Wanderers the early lead but Alex Lopez and Adam Taggart scored in 11 minutes either side of halftime to level for Brisbane.

Newcastle substitute Nicholas Cowburn’s first A-League goal gave the Jets a 1-1 draw with Sydney FC. Sydney led for more than an hour after skipper Alex Brosque’s 20th-minute header from a Rhyan Grant cross.

Melbourne City beat Wellington 2-0 on goals by Ritchie De Laet and Bruno Fornaroli.

In the last match of the round, Japan international Keisuke Honda, James Troisi and Corey Brown scored first-half goals in a 4-1 Melbourne Victory win over Central Coast.


More AP soccer: https://apnews.com/apf-Soccer and https://twitter.com/AP_Sports

All contents © copyright 2019 The Associated Press. All rights reserved.