Related topics

Record-setting running backs top Little All-America team

December 19, 1996

NEW YORK (AP) _ Jarrett Anderson of Truman State and Dante Brown of Marietta, a pair of record-breaking running backs, and Valdosta State quarterback Lance Funderburk headline The Associated Press Little All-America team announced today.

Anderson, the Harlon Hill Trophy winner as Division II’s top player, ran for a division-record 2,140 yards, averaged a division-record 194.5 yards per game and scored 28 touchdowns.

Brown led Division III in rushing, scoring and all-purpose yards and also set the NCAA single-game rushing record with 441 yards against Baldwin-Wallace on Oct. 5. The 5-foot-11, 180-pound junior ran for 2,385 yards and 27 touchdowns and averaged 297.3 total yards per game.

Funderburk, who led Valdosta State (10-3) to the second round of the Division II playoffs, completed 300 of 459 passes for 3,732 yards and 35 touchdowns. Funderburk was fourth in the division in total offense with 334.2 yards per game and was fifth in passing efficiency at 154.5.

Clarion and North Dakota each have two players on the team, which includes Divisions II and III and the NAIA.

The receivers are Ron Lelko of Bloomsburg, Carlos Ferralls of Glenville State and Jamar Nailor of New Mexico Highlands.

Lelko led Division II in receptions and yards, catching 87 passes for 1,455 yards and 15 touchdowns. Ferralls caught 81 passes for 965 yards and six TDs in just eight games, while Nailor had 86 catches 1,224 yards and 18 TDs.

Brian Shay of Emporia State is the all-purpose player. The sophomore had 2,103 yards rushing and 21 TDs, 247 yards receiving, 48 yards on punt returns and 340 on kickoff returns for an average of 248.9 total yards per game.

The offensive linemen are Bob Goltra of Pittsburg State, Chris Martin of Clarion, Todd Perkins of Texas A&M-Kingsville, Tony Ramirez of Northern Colorado and Don Struebing of Central Arkansas. Ramirez is the only repeater from last year’s squad.

The placekicker is Greg Janacek of Mankato State. Janacek hit 16 of 19 field goals _ 84.2 per cent _ and 34 of 35 extra points.

North Dakota placed two players on defense, lineman Mark Callahan and linebacker Tim Tibesar.

The other defensive linemen are Josh Antstey of Cal-Davis, Kelly Chisholm of Ferris State and Mark Uhde of Northwest Missouri State.

Joining Tibesar at the linebacking spots are Chris Anderson of John Carroll, Mike Clowney of Carson-Newman and Tommy Dorsey of North Carolina Central.

The defensive backs are led by Britt Henderson of Savannah State, who topped Division II with 12 interceptions. The other backs are Peter Hinckle of Ursinus, Kim Niedbala of Clarion and Gerald Smith of North Alabama.

The punter is South Dakota State’s Tom O’Brien, who led Division II with a 44.5-yard average on 60 punts.

There are six juniors and three sophomores on the team, selected by AP college football writer Richard Rosenblatt.

Brown, Ferralls, Lelko, Nailor, Janacek and Antstey are the juniors, Shay, Hinckle and O’Brien the sophomores.