School Board to swear in new members

November 12, 2018 GMT

The Aiken County Board of Education will swear in four new members Tuesday at its regular meeting.

The meeting will begin at 7 p.m. at the Aiken County Public Schools district office at 1000 Brookhaven Drive.

Jason Crane will represent District 2, serving most of Beech Island, Jackson, New Ellenton and Windsor. Crane defeated incumbent and former board Chairman Levi Green for the seat in Tuesday’s general election.

Brian Silas will represent District 3, serving part of Beech Island, Clearwater, Bath and part of Langley. Silas defeated incumbent John Wesley Hightower.

Barry Moulton will represent District 5, serving Belvedere and part of the City of North Augusta. Moulton defeated incumbent Jeremy Mace.


Dwight Smith will represent District 6, serving part of Langley, Gloverville, Warrenville, Graniteville, Vaucluse and part of Aiken. Cecil Atchley did not run for re-election.

Rosemary English was re-elected to District 7, serving part of Vaucluse, part of Eureka and part of Aiken. English ran unopposed.

Former Vice Chairman Tad Barber will assume the position of board chairman, according to board policy, and board members will elect a new vice chairman.

Under informational items, the board will hear construction updates for the North Augusta High Phase 2B addition, the Aiken High Phase 2B addition, the Ridge Spring-Monetta Middle/High School Phase 2 addition and the new Aiken County Adult Education Center.

Under consent items, the board will consider bids for the demolition of an existing classroom building at North Augusta High to allow the construction of the Phase 3 addition.

H.G. Reynolds Company Inc. received six bids. The budget needed is $620,828 to demolish the main building and prepare the site for the Phase 3 addition.

Other consent items are as follows:

• Submission of the S.C. Arts Commission Arts in Basic Curriculum Grant Application for East Aiken School of the Arts

• Dekoda Watson donation to Ridge Spring-Monetta High School for fiscal year 2019

• Local School Board elective courses for 2018-19.