The Banner-Press newsroom wins state honors

April 16, 2019 GMT

The Banner-Press’ regional newsroom was recently honored by the Nebraska Press Association with several prestigious awards.

The local newsroom staff members won honors for their efforts with The Banner Press, as well as the Schuyler Sun and The Columbus Telegram. The local journalists collectively won six awards, which were presented at the Nebraska Press Association’s annual convention in Kearney earlier this month.

“I’m very proud of our reporters who won these awards. This is the best of the best in Nebraska and every award was deserved,” said Regional Publisher Vincent Laboy, who oversees The Banner-Press, The Columbus Telegram, Schuyler Sun, Fremont Tribune and Plattsmouth Journal.

First-place awards:

• News Editor Sam Pimper and Managing Editor Matt Lindberg won in the breaking news daily category for “Colfax official found dead” (Nov. 13, 2018). The story was published in The Telegram and Sun.

• Lindberg won in the Class C News Writing category for “Sheriff’s race moves forward” (Aug. 23, 2018), chronicling the Butler County sheriff’s race after then-candidate Travis Prokupek dropped out. The story first published in The Banner-Press.

Second-place awards:

• Lindberg won in the Single Feature Story daily division for “Special kind of delivery” (Oct. 23, 2018), which detailed how two Columbus Jimmy John’s employees helped a local veteran.

Third-place awards:

• Sports Editor Nate Tenopir won in the Class B Sports Writing category for his Schuyler Sun story “1958 SCHS champs stand test of time,” which first published Dec. 27, 2018.

• Former reporter Eric Schucht took third in the Class C News Writing category for his “Historic home causes stir” (Dec. 6, 2018) that published in The Banner-Press.

• The newsroom staff won “Best Feature Series” in the daily division as a team for its week-long “Think Pink” series, which profiled local breast cancer survivors and fighters during the first week of October 2018 in The Telegram.