SCHS hands out fall awards

November 15, 2016 GMT

The 2016 Schuyler Central High School fall activity award presentations were held Nov. 7 in the east gymnasium.

Athletes involved in cross country, football, girls golf, softball and volleyball were honored at the event.

Head coach Sean Wickham presented the volleyball awards. Selected as the Offensive Player of the Year was sophomore Rachel Shonka. Maria Semerad, another sophomore, received the Outstanding Defensive Player of the Year honor. Selected as the Most Improved Player was senior Brooke Horejsi, who led the team in assists this season. Those receiving letters in volleyball were Jasmine DeLaTorre, Reagan Folda, Kameryn Healy, Horejsi, Lauren Kasik, Haylee Korth, Kinzie Petersen, Anna Rocheford, Semerad and Shonka.

Coach Rick Carter recognized his cross country runners with their honors. Selected as the Rookie of the Year was Edgar Romero. Receiving the Most Improved Runner award was Cristobal Gonzalez. Runners receiving athletic letters were Zach Cruz, Cristian Galvan, Gonzalez, Eduardo Guzman, Jose Jahen, Celvin Lopez, Edith Oliden, Abner Perez, Sebastian Rodriguez, Yessica Rodriguez, Romero and Nesrudin Yusuf.

Presenting the softball awards was head coach Clarissa Dunn. Selected as Most Valuable Player was Kendra Marxsen. Receiving the award for Most Improved Offensive Player was Lucy Rojo. The Most Improved Defensive Player was Jaiden Inselman. Receiving varsity letters in softball were Kaylie Bachmann, Bethany Black, Carla Chacon, Leslie DeArcos, Larissa Galvan, Nicolette Harding, Inselman, Cinthya Ledesma, Marxsen, Jakelin Mejia, Rojo, Jaiden Sock, Mia Wallingford and Alexis Wilch.

In girls golf, coach Jeff Droge presented the golf portion of the Myers-Reinecke-Shonka award to senior Kellie Kroeger, who was chosen as the Outstanding Girls Golfer of the 2016 season. Receiving athletic letters in girls golf were Kroeger, Jennifer Lopez, Claire Martin and Angela Medina.

Presenting awards for the SCHS football team was head coach Aaron Thumann. Selected as Lineman of the Year was Oliver Romero. Selected as the Most Improved Player of the year was Angel Rojo. Senior standout Layne Petersen was selected as a rare recipient of both the Offensive and Defensive Player of the Year honors for his stellar play on both sides of the ball as a wide receiver and defensive back. Receiving varsity letters in football were Kevin Contreras, Jackson Settles, Michael Hernandez, Mason Kovar, Luis Daniel Mendoza, Caden Yrkoski, Mario Venzor, Brandon Camarillo, Tychique Kutalu, Caleb Novak, Isaac Hernandez, Luis Cancino, Tyler Kohl, Jesus Maganda, Rojo, Bulmaro Gonzalez, Austin Zacharias, Ryan Johnson, Alexis Rodriguez, Romero, Kaden Long, Jesse Westerbuhr, Walker Wegner, Petersen, Oscar Mendoza, Travis Marxsen, Elmer Salazar, Nolan Healy, Emmanuel Rocha and Kevin Rodriguez.