Patrick Receives Award

February 6, 2019 GMT

Glenn Patrick, the first head coach of the Wilkes-Barre/Scranton Penguins, was selected as the Professional Hockey Players’ Association’s recipient of the Curt Leichner Distinguished Member Award on Monday.

The award is presented to a member of the hockey community who has made significant contributions toward the advancement of minor league hockey.

“I am humbled, honored and awed,” Patrick said in a statement. “Humbled because I was considered for such a prestigious award. Honored to received an award named for someone that I admired so much, and awed to be included with the rest of the recipients that have given so much to the game of hockey.”


Patrick coached the Penguins during their first four seasons, leading them to the championship round in 2000. He also spent the next three seasons as coach of the Wheeling Nailers.

During his playing days, Patrick was a representative for the PHPA and later president of the PHPA Executive Committee.

Other notable recipients of the award include Don Cherry, Darcy Regier, Claude Julien and Ted Nolan.

Patrick will be honored at the PHPA Annual Meeting of Player Representatives in June.