Click to copy
Click to copy

Australia to host Pakistan, New Zealand in tests in 2019-20

May 6, 2019

MELBOURNE, Australia (AP) — Australia will return to the Gabba to open its test summer in a series against Pakistan that will count for points in the ICC’s Test Championship.

Cricket Australia on Tuesday released its 2019-2020 schedule which features two tests against Pakistan and three against New Zealand, with a day-night match in each series.

Australia will open its summer test season on Nov. 21 in Brisbane, where it is unbeaten in test matches since 1988, then play a day-night test in Adelaide from Nov. 29. The Gabba was left off the schedule in last season’s four-test series against India.

New Zealand plays Australia in the first test day-night test in Perth, beginning Dec. 12, before the traditional Melbourne Cricket Ground test starting Dec. 26 and the New Year’s test in Sydney.

It will be Australia’s first Boxing Day test against New Zealand since 1987 — a 32-year gap — and just the fourth time they’ve played a test at the famous venue.

Cricket Australia said it will honor its commitment to tour India for three one-day internationals in mid-January, which had caused a reshuffle of the home international schedule and pushed back the Chappell-Hadlee ODI series between the trans-Tasman neighbors.

New Zealand, which will wrap up its test series in Sydney beginning Jan. 3, will return to Australia for three ODIs on March 13 and 15 (both in Sydney) and March 20 in Hobart.

The test series will be preceded by Twenty20 internationals between Australia, Sri Lanka and Pakistan starting Oct. 27 in Adelaide.

The T20 World Cup will be hosted by Australia in October and November of 2020.


More AP Cricket: www.apnews.com/cricket and https://twitter.com/AP_Sports

All contents © copyright 2019 The Associated Press. All rights reserved.